Hotel Christerbauer(3 stars)

Brunettiplatz 3 View on map

Average rating

28 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    3.9
  • Room
    3.9
  • Service
    4.5
  • Location
    5.2
  • Food and Drinks
    4.0
  • Sport & entertain
    4.0
Filters
You selected:
13 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Bianca
Disco instead of hotel!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
Hotel? Rather disco! The expectations of a 3 star hotel we were not overly big but we were at the arrival negative surprised. In eingengsbereich it smells already after smoke the overstrained boss has not even time to the arriving guests adequate to be welcomed. The rooms seemed at the first glance not so bad but is more than a web the shower sprayed in all directions. Bed linen is fresh, but still stained. The entire hotel seemed dingy and neglected. Toilet for large and narrow men hardly usably - so small. But the worst thing is the deafening noise ... in the gasthaus until the wee hours of the morning (4 am), drunk guests the area with more weight than the guests. Just shamefull. Apology dim breakfast non-existent. Boss was not to speak only the boss (partner) Money we only got for our daughter (4 years) back. 40 Euro the night was not justified. Ps: the negative evaluations are really the facts i have not believed. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    Size of the room to the toilet adequate. Furniture was old and messy as helped also no tv and hair dryer in the room. Shower filthy, toilet loose tiles, bed linen and towels, despite washing stains. Shower head sprayed in all directions all 3 double rooms we had. Toilet only for narrow small women suitable, because it is so small. Men used floors toilet. Radiator is impeccable cold was not.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    Only had breakfast hotel has the bad reputation the other host. Whoever smoky restaurants with dogs is there correctly. Breakfast was ok-dishes could be cleaner. Staff doesn't know or speaks hardly our language.

  • Service
    1.0

    Room cleaning consisted only of fresh stained sheets. Otherwise the room was, bathroom, toilet rather sparsely cleaned for Austria the impossible. Handling of complaints not possible.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    The hotel celebrated until the early morning hours without concern for its guests the want to sleep. Music was unbearably loud obviously drunk guests the course before the rooms and down.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    Hotel? Rather disco! The expectations of a 3 star hotel we were not overly big but we were at the arrival negative surprised. In eingengsbereich it smells already after smoke the overstrained boss has not even time to the arriving guests adequate to be welcomed. The rooms seemed at the first glance not so bad but is more than a web the shower sprayed in all directions. Bed linen is fresh, but still stained. The entire hotel seemed dingy and neglected. Toilet for large and narrow men hardly usably - so small. But the worst thing is the deafening noise in the gasthaus until the wee hours of the morning (4 am), drunk guests the area with more weight than the guests. Just shamefull. Apology dim breakfast non-existent. Boss was not to speak only the boss (partner) Money we only got for our daughter (4 years) back. 40 Euro the night was not justified. Ps: the negative evaluations are really the facts i have not believed.

  • Location
    6.0

    Location is the only good. In the middle in the center, but i knew the boss not the saturday weekly market and therefore only at the earliest to 13:30 to the hotel drive can about the parking lot.

Close
Roland
Holiday with starting difficulties.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • December 2013
The hotel itself has 4.5 floors and on each floor are about 3-4 rooms. There, we had to find out, that the condition and the equipment of the rooms in the 1st floor and 4. floor greatly differ. (see below) There was wi-fi in the entire building, but broke the 3. the rooms together, so there then only in the restaurant front desk was. The breakfast buffet was sufficient for us and pointed out a certain selection (eggs, muesli, cereals, sausage, ham, cheese, sweet, coffee, tea, juices, yogurt, vegetables), with the we were satisfied. The half-board meal was throughout ... well, although quite simply, which did not bother us at all! Only point of criticism: fresh fruit and vegetables was unfortunately hardly to not at all on the menu. The guests were very mixed: both families with children, young people and also older married couples. Conclusion: the hotel is not everyone's thing - you should not to high expectations and also with simple and solid circumstances and can make holiday. We have ourselves after initial teething problems and disappointment about the 1st room was comfortable and a nice holiday. Recommendation: no. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    First we had a room on the 1st floor, that for us not a pleasant and relaxing holiday would have meant: when you entered the room, you had to stand in the 'bath', so a tiled strip (circa 2 m2) with wash basin and shower curtain. Right behind the door was a further door, behind the toilet hid, which however was so tiny, that you (in the truest sense of the word) the pants before in the rooms suck down had, since the in the 'room' was not possible. A step further was the bedroom (not through a door separated from the bathroom!) , in a double bed, a closet, a table with a tv and 2 chairs were. Then the room was already full. Tile pass or is possible you could not. The bed was very worn out and springing every spring the springy. After one night we decided, that it could not continue and asked for another room in the house, the somewhat larger and above all a separate bathroom could have been. Thank god we could the very friendly and helpful staff offer, which was in the 4. floor, so under the roof was. This room was now quite value for expectations: simply (double bed, table, 2 chairs, 2 closets, wardrobe, tv, luggage rack, 2 safes, separate bathroom with bath/shower, toilet, sink) but big enough, clean and with balcony and sea view! This is a ' mischbewertung' from both rooms.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The restaurant divided into 2 areas: smokers and non-smokers. At the designated smoking area is the bar, where the obviouslythey einfindet. The non-smoking area is also the breakfast room and was quite simply furnished. The door to the kitchen was open, so that partly the deep fryer to the restaurant to smell was, what then of course also in the clothes was to feel. The food was good and varied, even if simply, unfortunately never fresh fruit and very rarely vegetables or salad. The atmosphere in the restaurant we found quite depressed and not particularly comfortable or inviting. Chairs, tables and benches are quite bulky and take much place.

  • Service
    5.0

    Both, the boss and the staff (1 girl from Hungary) were very friendly, even if the girl hardly spoke german. The room cleaning consisted of making the bed and hang towels, but the room was basically clean and in good order, although time dusted could be. With our complaints and requests (for food) was handled very well and best met.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    The hotel itself has 4.5 floors and on each floor are about 3-4 rooms. There, we had to find out, that the condition and the equipment of the rooms in the 1st floor and 4. floor greatly differ. (see below) There was wi-fi in the entire building, but broke the 3. the rooms together, so there then only in the restaurant front desk was. The breakfast buffet was sufficient for us and pointed out a certain selection (eggs, muesli, cereals, sausage, ham, cheese, sweet, coffee, tea, juices, yogurt, vegetables), with the we were satisfied. The half-board meal was throughout well, although quite simply, which did not bother us at all! Only point of criticism: fresh fruit and vegetables was unfortunately hardly to not at all on the menu. The guests were very mixed: both families with children, young people and also older married couples. Conclusion: the hotel is not everyone's thing - you should not to high expectations and also with simple and solid circumstances and can make holiday. We have ourselves after initial teething problems and disappointment about the 1st room was comfortable and a nice holiday. Recommendation: no.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located right in the centre of st. gilgen and jetty, tourist information, cable car and various shops are only a few minutes walk. Every saturday is in front of the hotel a (tiny) market and in december is the adventsmarkt just around the corner.

Close
Heike
Price-performance ratio absolutely great.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2013
The hotel was older, but clean and well maintained, the staff very friendly and helpful. Wellness or pool is not available, but very beautiful walking trails around the lake. Ideal hotel for people who gladly on the way are. The bathroom is rather small, but clean and with seat tub equipped. Wi-fi is available in the hotel free of charge. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Reinhard
Poor performance in almost every respect!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
Rooms are simply furnished, but clean. In the stairwell it smells musty, in a restaurant was smoke, smelled terribly. The bathroom is very small and only a small counter is available - inadequate! We were there over christmas. The decoration was very primitive, carelessly, partly broken, as well as the restaurantbeleuchtung - investitionsstau in on every corner. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Room size was ok, bathroom was much too small. Simple furnishings.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    The food is very basic, bland, carelessly displayed. A learned cook this restaurant still not seen - just pathetic!

  • Service
    4.0

    The service and the boss are very friendly, tried hard. The boss cared to his regular customers at the counter...

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.0

    Rooms are simply furnished, but clean. In the stairwell it smells musty, in a restaurant was smoke, smelled terribly. The bathroom is very small and only a small counter is available - inadequate! We were there over christmas. The decoration was very primitive, carelessly, partly broken, as well as the restaurantbeleuchtung - investitionsstau in on every corner.

  • Location
    5.0

    Centrally located, easy access to everything.

Close
Van Duong
3 nights over pentecost
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
Room for night is ok and clean. Spatiality the toilet is a bit too small side. Food and service excellent! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
John
Super location in the centre of St.Gilgen
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
Only a short visit but the hotel was perfect, just what we wanted, clean hotel and good food. Location in the centre of the town was great, hope to go back for a longer stay when it is a bit warmer! Overall very happy. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Karin
Cozy, friendly recommendable hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • May 2013
New managment 2013, very friendly& courteous owners, the previous reviews refer to the previous owner. It is a cosy, homely accommodation/restaurant Value for money is okay read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Katharina
We liked it!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • December 2012
So, we stayed there for new year's, and i have to say, so have fun we had already long not more. The food is very good, the host funny and very spacious. Thank you Albert. The locals and the traditions in Austria to get to, is in good hands here. Off course the hotel has gotten old, but as you, as we, hardly in the room were, it didn't bother us. For such a price of course you could not a 4 or 5 stars expect. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Peter
Where please take this shed three stars come from? archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2012
The only positive this house is not hineinregnet. If you please, in Austria the stars for such hotels? The description on the internet is unfortunately from the beginning to the back a fairytale. ( in-house beach). read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Manfred
vacation in the case friends archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • January 2012
The hotel offers an extensive breakfast buffet, has a excellent kitchen and very friendly staff. the value for money is excellent and in the best way suitably, culture and people culture of this region, since this house is also visited by locals. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size and decor of the rooms is very clean and practical.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food and menu is extensive and the quality of high quality. it is both smoking, as well as non-smokers area in nice atmosphere available. The prices are fair.

  • Service
    6.0

    the staff are very friendly and has sufficient foreign languages skills. The rooms are very clean and the cleaning of the rooms is reliable.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel offers an extensive breakfast buffet, has a excellent kitchen and very friendly staff. the value for money is excellent and in the best way suitably, culture and people culture of this region, since this house is also visited by locals.

  • Location
    6.0

    the hotel is centrally located in St. Gilgen and all free time-, Cultural and entertainment opportunities are within a short same reachable.

Close
Petra
comfortable, centrally located hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2011
The guest house is centrally located in St. Gilgen; the value for money is very good. The guest house offers a native, comfortable ambience, we drive gladly again anytime back. Love regards read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Roger
A waste o hard earned money archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • September 2011
there was no variation in th food. same thing for breakfast ever day, the evening meal consisted of soup and a small piece of meat and one potato cut into quarters, we never saw a vegatable all week.there was never any choice of sweet you either took it or left it read hotel review
  • Room
    1.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Jill
When they said the rooms were small archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • July 2010
The brochure described the room as small but we honestly didn't think it would be that small. On opening the bedroom door the first thing we saw was the bathroom basin, then the shower - complete with dripping shower. another step and we were in the bedroom. Not a lot of room to move round the bed but there was adequate space in the wardrobe for all our clothes. The room had 2 balconies, which was nice and probably covered the same space as the room. But where was the toilet - ahh, we found it in a cupboard. I ... had to walk in sideways to sit on it and then sidle out again to adjust my clothing afterwards. The toilet had a macerater and the noise must have woken the people in the next 2 rooms - well I could certainly hear when they flushed theirs! We had a great selection of cobwebs in the room too, although the room was clean otherwise. The towels were only changed once during our stay, however, and that was the day before we left which I found rather strange. The meals were adequate but not inspiring. The food was very salty, and there were very few vegetables served with the meals Although our meals were ok almost half the restaurant sent back their chicken one night, and the following night a couple of meals were also sent back. We were on a half board basis and a glass of wine was included with the evening meal. The serving staff were lovely but embarrassed by the problems with the meals and their grasp of English made it difficult to deal with requests/complaints. The hotel advertises that it has a Strube, but this was set up as a diningroom so we were unable to use in on the very wet nights which was the worst feature of the week's holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Standard room is VERY small. Clean and comfortable bed, although only one pillow available. Portable tv on small table, 2 diningroom type chairs, suitcase stand, 2 bedside cabinets and fitted wardrobe.Furnished in Austrian style, which is in keeping witht he style of the hotel. No courtesy tray. 2 Balconies were a lovely feature, as well as the flowers in the window boxes.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    Meals were returned to the kitchen on a regular basis. If you love over-salted food then you will love the Christerbauer. Austrian food with an English slant.

  • Service
    4.0

    Staff were friendly but only one or 2 had a good grasp of English. The room was adequately cleaned - except for the cobwebs.

  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0

    Not aware of any entertainment , sport or pool in the hotel.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    The brochure described the room as small but we honestly didn't think it would be that small. On opening the bedroom door the first thing we saw was the bathroom basin, then the shower - complete with dripping shower. another step and we were in the bedroom. Not a lot of room to move round the bed but there was adequate space in the wardrobe for all our clothes. The room had 2 balconies, which was nice and probably covered the same space as the room. But where was the toilet - ahh, we found it in a cupboard. I had to walk in sideways to sit on it and then sidle out again to adjust my clothing afterwards. The toilet had a macerater and the noise must have woken the people in the next 2 rooms - well I could certainly hear when they flushed theirs! We had a great selection of cobwebs in the room too, although the room was clean otherwise. The towels were only changed once during our stay, however, and that was the day before we left which I found rather strange. The meals were adequate but not inspiring. The food was very salty, and there were very few vegetables served with the meals Although our meals were ok almost half the restaurant sent back their chicken one night, and the following night a couple of meals were also sent back. We were on a half board basis and a glass of wine was included with the evening meal. The serving staff were lovely but embarrassed by the problems with the meals and their grasp of English made it difficult to deal with requests/complaints. The hotel advertises that it has a Strube, but this was set up as a diningroom so we were unable to use in on the very wet nights which was the worst feature of the week's holiday.

  • Location
    6.0

    St Gilgen is a lovely town with great bus links to Salzburg and Bad Ischl and ferry boats to St Wolfgang and Strobl. The town has a cable car, providing a welcome lift to the top of the mountain which had fanatastic walking trails. The town has a fair selection of shops including a small Spar supermarket opposite the hotel. The local church s very close to the hotel - be aware that the church bells ring every quarter hour from 7 am.

Close