Hotel Southern Palms Beach Resort(4 stars)

Diani Beach Road, Diani ,Ukunda, Kwale District, Coast Province, Kenya View on map

Average rating

708 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.1
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    4.9
  • Food and Drinks
    5.2
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
179 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Heiko J.
Terrific hotel at a beautiful beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Excellent hotel with a private stretch of beach. Both at the beach as well as at the huge pool the beach chairs and mats were free and in sufficient number available. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The meals in the buffet restaurant, or in the two theme restaurants (naturally free of charge! But with service! ) be taken. Lunch is a lunch restaurant in addition. The choice of food in the buffet is very large and is supported with daily changing specialities. Beware of the thieving monkeys! Unfortunately the salesmen with good words to appease pushy and not... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Sebastian
Nice area, with large weaknesses
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
We think the hotel overall for strong overrated. If you your demands lower expectations, then you can certainly experience a relaxing holiday, since the hotel is quite nice. But if you're looking for something special, here you will be rather disappointed. Weaknesses: • the rooms and especially the bathrooms are unworthy and urgently need a renovation of a hotel of this category. Each 2 star hotel in Germany has a higher standard than this. The air conditioner was loud and had to be adjusted constantly new. The chinese tv was antiquated. The toilet flush did not work properly. The room ... safe cost extra. The lady at the desk told us, when we wanted to upgrade, that all rooms were here. • the quality of the food varied strongly between tasty and partially more inedible. Sometimes one had to look for proper, the tribunal until you find something matching. Sometimes you but also bitterly disappointed, for example by dry and tough meat or miserable wine, which one wanted to drink a sip of after nothing more. Also the variety of the food was not good, in other hotels we had significantly better food (Magic Life Kalawy in Egypt). • all inclusive is not all inclusive. For proper coffee you pay extra. In the whole hotel there was only a apalling. The juices were not very good. • meat and fish were offered sparse. The selection was small. For us it was okay, but it must be mentioned. Strengths: + beach + pools nice lobby and dining room I would not recommend this hotel, mainly because of the room. May be, that we as westerners to large requirements in terms of a developing country and have schwarzafrikanisches, in the abject poverty. For the locals the hotel is surely pure luxury, but a fair evaluation by international standards must. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Stephan
Amazing and fantastic!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
We were in the period end february to early march with break a safarirundreise in the hotel and we were very happy with our choice. The hotel is located about 1.5 hours from the airport Mombasa - drive varies widely because the ferry in Mombasa. The drive to the hotel you get a first insight of the life 'many' kenyan - one is in the middle of Afrika. In the hotel many nations were (germans, austrians, russians, Poland, french etc. - half Europa) and the age of families with children to ' pensioners' represented. The hotel itself consists of ... 3stöckigen of single houses, in a u-shape around the beautiful garden and pool area are. The rooms were big enough and in the form completely okay - you spend anyway much time in the room! The pool and garden plant ends directly with the transition to the gorgeous beach and sea. One should for his badeaktivitäten but take into account, that there are high and low tides. On the beach there are many beach vendors on the way, the one constantly wanted to sell something. These may, however, only up to a certain 'line' and thus not at the hotel's beach chairs. For us was the handling of the beachboys but relatively relaxed - they try a little money by the tourists to deserve. There were some guests, the already in the early morning hours of their beach chairs' reserved - however we have also without early to reserve always a free good places at the beach or in the gardens at the pool found! We booked our safari already from home about the travel agent, but also directly at the beach with the beachsboys you can safari tours and excursions, such as snorkelling or Mombasa-city tours book. We had as said, everything already from home and the qualities therefore not rate! We had in the hotel, all-inclusive and were very happy. The temperatures you have quite a lot of drunk and thus we have the price for all inclusive also 'used'. The prices for cocktails läppert otherwise. The food in the main restaurant we found delicious - the indian corner with his vegetarian dishes we liked it. The meat we mostly just on the edge of try, since the rest was so delicious! Furthermore, there are more restaurants, where we only the grill restaurant in the hotel tried. There gives it to freshly grilled meat specialities. We liked, but not blown away (as we had a few days before the famous grill restaurant cornivore in nairobi were)! With mosquitoes we had no problems at all - in the room there is a mosquito net around the bed and we also had 'Anti Brumm-anti- mückenspräh' in the luggage. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Jay
Touristenparadies in the middle of the poverty.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
Very beautiful hotel area in great design and a huge pool area, clean beach, very courteous staff and a high recreation value, but room for improvement in regard to the choice of food, to a limited and the other often repeated. The can also the 2 in advance to allow specialty restaurants only partly offset. However there were always and in large quantities of freshly cut fruits, so we gladly very healthy almost exclusively. Tips from us:1) as direct flight, for example, Hotel Condor book, our stopover in adias ababa was time-consuming, ethiopian air is a professional airline, the ... applied bureaucracy to the airports is however extremely annoying defendendo. 2) excursions through the tour operator are considering the local price level violendy overpriced, on the beach you get the exact same safari for much less. 2 days after tsavo is cumbersome on the prior to catastrophic roads, the lodges and the experiences with various animals are amazing and worth the effort. 3) as the hotel has no atm, the course at the hotel is very unfavorable and the charge for the safe have to pay cash, you should already at the airport with cash setting. Otherwise there are machines in about 2.5 kilometer distance 4) cocktails are overpriced, other drinks reasonable priced. Whoever cocktails can do without, is with half board also well served. 5) since the population is poor, with tip not dishwasher soap and a few gifts for children outside of the hotel along. Even things lead to brilliant smile and shiny children's eyes (small Haribo-sachets, pens, stuffed animals, toys, etc.) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Juliane
Too expensive.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
The hotel was already a bit worn - beautiful is the large dining room. Everything was clean. The staff was always very friendly. Unfortunately, it was mostly somewhat lengthily, until the drinks ( frühstückstee or the drinks for dinner) were served. During the booked time over christmas and new year, it was difficult, a sunbed to get, if you eat in the morning to six with towel reserved. Also 'the liegengeschäft' firmly in the hands of the security, the actually before the intrusive beachboys is designed to protect. Against appropriate tip is as umbrella plus free beach chair held (even ... if the whole day nobody uses the couches!). The indian food was good and tasty, but fish and meat from the ' normalauswahl' were unfortunately often dry and a little bland. Excellent: the fresh fruit! Also excellent the christmas and silvesterbüfetts. The hotel has no closed disco, so that the dance - depending on how the room is - until 11:00 p. m. (over the holidays even until midnight) loud was to be heard. Drinks are expensive, if you don't booked all inclusive and are german großstadtpreisen. Baywatch on the beach there were unfortunately not, although turbulent sea already times a poisonous jellyfish can be out - god help you if the, the then far out swim. Sports: old, but functional gym, wassergymnasitk - otherwise unfortunately no sport offers. All in all very good - but compared to other holiday countries too expensive. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Andreas
Fantastic holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
We were for the first time in Kenya and thus also for the first time in the southern palms beach. Should we visit Kenya travel we will definitely choose this hotel again. The area was nicely set up with a large main building and several guesthouses. The pool area was wonderful and well-kept. On the beach there were always a few piles of seaweed but from the staff regularly removed. The sea was due to strong wind a bit cloudy but ok. On the beach there were very many locals and wanted a souvenirs turn on, it was partly quite ... annoying. The only thing we really didn't like about this hotel, was the fabricated ' zettelwirtschaft'. With every getränktebestellung had a note be completed with the room number, name, signature and number on our wristband. This was apparently necessary as this hotel both all-inclusive and half/full board and therefore the possibility of bribery or cheating. This increased outlay could the staff not enough its essential tasks, the serving of drinks, give, and orders for drinks with the meals partly very long lasted. We were surprised of which, that it in the hotel free wlan. Did not always but we were in Afrika ☺ Since we during the winter holidays were there, there were many families with children. Roughly 75% of the guests were german. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The room was relatively large. A large bed with mosquito net, a small beistellsofa, dresser with a tv, as well as a small table with 2 chairs found therein place. In the bathroom there was a shower, sink and toilet. The room and bathroom were a bit 'worn' but very clean. Unfortunately, it was only possible the air conditioning system to use as long as you are in the room. The area was very noisy so you can't walk at night you couldn't leave. We would have liked during the dinner, so before the bed going 2-3 hour run keep the room somewhat cool at night.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The hotel has several restaurants. We only used the main restaurant or the 'grill' visited. Main restaurant: the breakfast we mainly at waffles, pancakes and fresh fruit like passion fruit and pineapple held. It was very good. At noon and in the evening there was buffet, but in the evening a big choice was offered. There were 2 'corner'. A corner was always the 'indian corner'. The dishes were good and hot. In the evening there was also always freshly baked na on bread which was very good. The slogan of the other ' corners' changed again, from german to african etc. The food and the selection were very good. For the restaurant 'grill' you had to reserve. There were then grilled fish, lamb, chicken, beef and pineapple. Potatoes, vegetables, rice and a variety of dips and salads. Was also good.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was very friendly and spoke good to very good english. The room cleaning was very good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    We spent most of our time at the pool, as the sea was very windy, so we can only the 'location' on describe the pool. In the morning it was first started with aerobics to land and water aerobics. Then there was a game of water -Volleyball. It was lunch. The afternoon water -Volleyball or water polo. Good last aqua-gym. Furthermore, in the afternoon, bingo and different quizzes played. In the evening there was also mostly good entertainment with local bands or zirkusähnlichen performances.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We were for the first time in Kenya and thus also for the first time in the southern palms beach. Should we visit Kenya travel we will definitely choose this hotel again. The area was nicely set up with a large main building and several guesthouses. The pool area was wonderful and well-kept. On the beach there were always a few piles of seaweed but from the staff regularly removed. The sea was due to strong wind a bit cloudy but ok. On the beach there were very many locals and wanted a souvenirs turn on, it was partly quite annoying. The only thing we really didn't like about this hotel, was the fabricated ' zettelwirtschaft'. With every getränktebestellung had a note be completed with the room number, name, signature and number on our wristband. This was apparently necessary as this hotel both all-inclusive and half/full board and therefore the possibility of bribery or cheating. This increased outlay could the staff not enough its essential tasks, the serving of drinks, give, and orders for drinks with the meals partly very long lasted. We were surprised of which, that it in the hotel free wlan. Did not always but we were in Afrika ☺ Since we during the winter holidays were there, there were many families with children. Roughly 75% of the guests were german.

  • Location
    6.0

    From the airport Mombasa the hotel takes you 1-2 hour. From Mombasa after Diani you have to go to a part of the route with a ferry. Depending on how much the ferry to do is change the journey. The hotel was located directly at the public beach. The national parks of tsavo east and west are about 2 hours away by car. In the area were many hotels and small markets. The village of ukunda is close to the hotel.

Close
Conny
Dream holiday! Always gladly again southern palms!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
We were for the first time in Kenya and for the middle class hotel southern palms beach decided. We were very contently with the hotel choice and after conversations with other tourists, as well as a walk along Diani Beach (where the other hotels also partly could see), we must say, that we the southern palms beach always again would choose. It has entertainment, it has the largest pool, it has great food and restaurants and the beach was (on the contrary to the other hotels on the Diani Beach) always clean, since every morning the seaweed and possible trash ... was removed. In the hotel were mainly german, austrians, swiss. The resort was large, but well arranged. There were 2 large pools. The hotel and the area was always very well maintained. There was security/security at every house (24/7) and on the beach (because of the beach boys). Beachboys are not to the pool chairs, we had also camera, kindles, etc. everything at the beach left. It was never a problem. We have that very estimated! wi-fi is free in the lobby but not in the room. The staff was always friendly and helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are large and spacious and had a balcony/terrace and air conditioning. It is a double bed, couch, mini bar/refrigerator, hair dryer, telephone closet, and tv (ZDF one gets purely) in the room. The rooms are clean and are daily cleaned several times. In the evening, if you with the food is, the mosquito net down and left a sweet on the pillow. I found it very nice. Safe was in the room but it costs 2000 KES/day (= about 2 Euro). Now we found not so bad.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There was a main restaurant (buffet), where the breakfast, noon and dinner are served. Breakfast was not amazing but ok. There was toast, rolls, eggs in different kinds, pancakes, waffles, jam, honey, butter, cereal, fruit, sausage and cheese (only maximum of 2 varieties), sausage, beans, etc. So one verhungert certainly not, is just another quality than you are used to. the dinner in the restaurant restaurant there were always theme evenings, for example, mediterranean, fish, italian,... The dinner was always very varied, the quality and there was always something for everyone. There was always noodles (suitable for children), there was always indian food in the indian corner, there was always fresh, warm from the oven baked pita bread (which was so tasty) and it was almost always rice or potatoes in any form, meat, fish,. So was actually always for someone something for everyone. Only the dessert buffet one could not necessarily food (very dry us sweet), but it wasn't so bad for us, because we have the fresh fruit, which anyway much are healthier, limited. But tastes are different. Salad buffet was also great, had no problems In addition there was a grill restaurant and an italian restaurant (4 - course menu), the one often could reserve. Both out tried and was very tasty. The lebanese restaurant (only for a fee) we didn't use and i believe not often used. Every thursday on the beach a beach dinner with lobster, etc. Cost extra i think it was about 20-30 Euro per person we did not make, firstly because it always windy on the beach, and secondly, because the then anyway no more romantic, if next to you nor 50 other tables. Friends of us did it and were totally disappointed (firstly because of the wind, secondly the service and the quality of the food). There was also a snack bar, where you from 10:00 until 5:30 p. m. food (all-inclusive). We actually mostly lunch gladly used, since 1st the snack bar near the beach and is 2. because it is a great change to the buffet in the restaurant restaurant is. Here, for example, there are pizzas, burgers, toast, sandwiches, etc. At the beach bar was daily additionally from 16 hours until 5:30 p. m. an afternoon snack with drinks, cakes, sandwiches and café set up. Bars: there is a pool bar, a beach bar, a bar in the lobby and a bar at the snack bar. There is everyone bar a list/menu for the all inclusive guests. All-inclusive cocktails were cocktails you have to pay (for half board guests) in the quality and taste. All inclusive: Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks Afternoon tea from 16 to 5:30 p. m. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic local drinks from 10 to 11:30 p. m. Coffee and tea 10:30 until 5:30 p. m. We would definitely go back to choose all-inclusive already alone because of the water. We paid per day definitely 6-7 bottles (0, 5liter ) per person drank. Price was 150 KES (= circa 1,5 Euro) per bottle there is something together. What was annoying is, that you also with all inclusive every order/bill has to sign.

  • Service
    6.0

    You can a free early breakfast from 1 hours early to reserve one (for example in safari or return trip) and/or a wake-up call store - worked perfectly. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Even the gardeners and other staff asked every day how we were and if everything was to our satisfaction. Room change was possible without a problem.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Beach chairs at the pool and beach are included. Every day there was an entertainment program (aerobics, aquagymnastic, walks on the beach, Bocce, football, beach volleyball, etc. and you were also really it encouraged to take part. Managed beachwalk (11 o'clock in the morning with security) was always very nice and funny. As evening entertainement there was every day in the restaurant restaurant a live band or drummer or similar and then down by the snack bar shows such as snake show, masaitänzer, acrobatics, etc. Entertainment offered every day a few monkeys, the a banana stibizen. There were not very many monkeys in the hotel (from the Bamburi hotel we heard, that it was quite so bad). The monkeys were cute and left also often not look out all day. Was not disturbing. There was a kids club, but children there was almost no at the hotel.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We were for the first time in Kenya and for the middle class hotel southern palms beach decided. We were very contently with the hotel choice and after conversations with other tourists, as well as a walk along Diani Beach (where the other hotels also partly could see), we must say, that we the southern palms beach always again would choose. It has entertainment, it has the largest pool, it has great food and restaurants and the beach was (on the contrary to the other hotels on the Diani Beach) always clean, since every morning the seaweed and possible trash was removed. In the hotel were mainly german, austrians, swiss. The resort was large, but well arranged. There were 2 large pools. The hotel and the area was always very well maintained. There was security/security at every house (24/7) and on the beach (because of the beach boys). Beachboys are not to the pool chairs, we had also camera, kindles, etc. everything at the beach left. It was never a problem. We have that very estimated! wi-fi is free in the lobby but not in the room. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located directly on the beach of Diani Beach. Outside of the hotel were we never, because we had all-inclusive. But from the airport Mombasa it was about 1.5 hours (including ferry) to the hotel, to the shopping Diani Beach 4 kilometer. There are masseurs/massage cabanas, with the beach right about 3 minutes walk. Massages are considerably cheaper than in the hotel (circa 10 Euro per 1 hour massage), in the hotel it cost about 40 Euro. Beach: there are beach boys, the can be annoying, but are much not so bad as described. I had really fear, that the boys really spoil your holiday may, because my friend so a bit did not react. The first day was bad, since we were really from all sides angequatscht and we could not even go on alone into the sea, without, that 5 beachboys which sell wanted. On 2. day knew all beachboys our names and were always annoying. On 3. day we had a the souvenir stores of the beachboys visited (action! Absolutely. He wanted for 2 wooden figures first 145 Euro, we have it then on 20 Euro bartered. It was clean but for the rest of the vacation in peace left). After 3. day we had already the trick goes outside purely. Friendly no say or simply ignore was the best solution, sometime we were also no longer touts and we were easily alone on the beach.

Close
Irina
All around a successful holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Wonderful hotel, especially in the winter months for couples highly recommended. A bit annoying was only the confirmation of each beverage despite all inclusive booking. (apparently the bar staff to little confidence experienced) Very friendly staff and great room. The service of the rooms- stewards is unique! Highly recommended is the safari trip to tzavo -east with night in satao camp, the easily be booked over the travel line should. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Bibiana
Never again.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Once and never again. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel. Competence zero, very bad food. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    1.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    2.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Carina
Super nice! Attention to detail in this hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
For us it was unforgettable beautiful days there! We will definitely stay there again! The sea view you forget not! You should definitely book a room with ocean view! We had one, it was an experience to wake up in the morning and the sea and the sun in this amazing beach to see! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Claudia
Super hotel and great safari through sipi tours.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
My mother/69 and i/46 were over christmas 2013 southern palms beach. It was simply wonderful. The promised benefits were more than satisfied. The friendliness of the staff and the excellent service in kitchen, room, pool and the entire hotel were great. By the very good evaluations of sipi tours, contacted i Francis mkala already from Germany. Locally we discussed this the safaris. Francis is a professional and super nice. German and english. We made an airplane safari in the maasai Mara, a Jeep Safari after tsavo east and each time it was as promised. Super dedicated drivers and tour guides. ... We were personally with Francis on a part tour invited, land and people watch. A unique experience. Thank you Francis, that we thereby Kenya even more who were. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Manuela
Nice exterior, worn down rooms
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The pool area and exteriors of this hotel are really nice. The rooms however, are old and worn down. They appear dark with old furniture and are really small (also the bath rooms). The food is very good - great variety and excellent choices (try the Indian corner). What I did not like too much was the fact that the waiters reserved the best dinner tables for guest by placing water bottles for a small tip, so when you get there the choice is already limited unless you play the same game. There are also far too few sunbeds on ... the beach. If you do not get there by 7.00 am, no chance to find one with a bit of shade. Getting cold drinks at the pool bar is also quite difficult because the staff keeps the fridge door unnecessarily long open so it never really cools down properly. The focus of the hotel is also on action, animation, noise - so great for people who like it but nothing for couples looking for a bit of piece. In the whole business center there was only one pen and the lady was not really very friendly. Otherwise the staff was very nice. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Birgit
As far as good holiday but unfortunately with defects
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
We were four times in this hotel, but unfortunately, we had to find out, that in recent years the quality much left! The food, the taste or the variety, we found not good. There was always german or indian cuisine, there was earlier always theme nights at the buffet (such as african kitchen). So now to the pool. These were so far ok except for in the corners everywhere the finery fell off and we always water fleas had. They told us it would be normal in such temperatures: ok, but we could not stand in the water left, you ... could see the small black bugs and as to a, and then bite. To the hotel has two pools with a pool bar! Unfortunately, we had to find out, that the fountains pool bar almost always was. When we asked why they do not like the other bar around ten o'clock makes it says: no tourists, no staff (50% unemployment in Kenya hello) or have no time, the boss was just there and all employees must become the meeting and therefore it was four days nothing not even a coffee or water. We thought the tourists would be king unfortunately not in this hotel! Since the boss is also a indian and national day 12,12 many indians arrived, the staff was as exchanged! These vacationers got everything when and how long they wanted. These we wanted suburb and answer: yes, this is statement from the chef! Otherwise i can only the evaluation of Sergej as well as Thomas customize! We would be happy, if the management changes then we would also love to visit again ☺ read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Jost
Kenya for beginners! Be careful!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Hotel has its best times behind itself. 6 large buildings around the pools arranged. Slightly dirty bathrooms. Room small. Large bed with network takes almost the whole room. 3. bed and couch not usable, since no seating area. We had half board, the food was monotonous and for us little tasty. Breakfast with egg station, crepestation, waiting times, because everything is new is made. Service slow. High zusatzpreise (wine fl.20 Euro ) guests still for 20 time in there. Not understandable for us. Wi-fi in the lobby, often breaks down. Beach okay cleanly, ons and begging the wakes.' ... Beachboys'eine real shame. Blow furious will, the los to get. Pool area a real gem, a lot of space, often sports activities. Nevertheless: conclusion: who Egypt is accustomed, is here really disappointed. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Already initially described, bathroom slightly filthy, joints old, much disinfectant! Strict smell! Bed and narrow. Sunbathing area about 160 centimeter overall! Wide, must be careful, when the turn. Climate worked.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    Additional restaurants in half board for everyone. Grillvom spit, was good, but always without seasoning, pizzeria was ok, meat a disaster. Additional costs, since no all-inclusive, for us too high. Local beer 3 €, ice cream €3.20. Main restaurant rather unimaginative. 2 types of sausage, always the same, often angegilbt. (issue kühling : only ice cream under the bowls) a lot of lamb. Always rice, hardly seasoned, bland.

  • Service
    4.0

    Staff friendly. Shortcomings will so the best way to compensated. Some speak german fragmented. Complaints were quickly implemented. Change wg. disco in the hotel for some guests urgently are. With us well. Specifically: new year's eve with shows and buffet food classic. Great variety of food, unfortunately only at new year's eve!

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    Hotel has its best times behind itself. 6 large buildings around the pools arranged. Slightly dirty bathrooms. Room small. Large bed with network takes almost the whole room. 3. bed and couch not usable, since no seating area. We had half board, the food was monotonous and for us little tasty. Breakfast with egg station, crepestation, waiting times, because everything is new is made. Service slow. High zusatzpreise (wine fl.20 Euro ) guests still for 20 time in there. Not understandable for us. Wi-fi in the lobby, often breaks down. Beach okay cleanly, ons and begging the wakes.' Beachboys'eine real shame. Blow furious will, the los to get. Pool area a real gem, a lot of space, often sports activities. Nevertheless: conclusion: who Egypt is accustomed, is here really disappointed.

  • Location
    3.0

    Airport 35 kilometer away. Need but 2 hours bus ride!. Ferry! Environment extremely dirty. Supermarket with minibus 5 minutes excursions bookable: german with safari shop good, Diani shopping center 10 minutes minibus. Night life too risky! Mombasa at night avoid. Pedestrians will be charged escorted, geldbettelei with great stories.

Close
Gabi
Nice stay at the southern Palm Beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
In december we stayed at this hotel. After we from the papillon lagoon reef in writing were referred, because. I had lunch in the beachbereich in their bikini top and cloth around the waist wrapped food. The restaurant at the papillon is wohglgemerkt just a few meters away from the pool and free. And the southern Palm Beach bad writes should times in the papillon go-) We were in the southern Palm Beach very satisfied. Pool area is huge with 2 pool bars and was also always well kept and clean. That vacationers, the mornings already before 7 am ... with towels reserve them is unfortunately typical of many resorts. I think these tourists simply only embarrassing. Normally, the management staff directing, these towels to remove, because some hours unused since around. The path to the beach was short and who at low tide not wants to go to the sea only a few meters to the pool. From the ' annoying beachboys'hatten we after 2 days of peace. Once certainly say, that you had no interest and the matter is born. However, we had as with some boys every day and the conversations were quite instructive and partly also very merry. With the Matatu which only a few shillings costs in the supermarket? No problem. 5 kilometer away you can also the tanduri bar or the shakatak visit. One takes a taxi and i think at home the disco also not straight in front of the doorstep. Quality of the service was (especially for the breakfast) monotonous. However we had the also in other countries. You had to adjust. The food is now times not european. Diarrhea or stomach we had no complaints Rooms were bright, clean and not too small. Staff was friendly and helpful. We also got fresh towels every day, and what i particularly amusing was, that every evening a boy came the us the mosquito net herunterließ and a candy on our pillows-) I can only recommend the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Frank
S. p. b. r. very good alternative to Baobab beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Southern palms beach resort is a medium sized hotel, divided over several buildings, which were very beautifully imbedded in the nature are (= they weren't concrete blocks). Already with the arrival immediately the african atmosphere to feel. The overall impression is clean, and the area was kept clean. The guests come from India, Germany, Austria, Netherlands, England and Russia. As the nationalities percentage together, i can't rate. In december were all age groups represented (exception: schoolable children). The hotel is half-board and universe inclusive are. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are functional (standard room). Bathroom is ok, hair dryer available. Room with minibar for a fee (also for all-inclusive guests), coffee maker included. The bed with a mosquito net covered, also prevent the cleanliness of the windows and doors a penetration of the pests. The air conditioning system functioned perfectly. Otherwise everything was present in the room, which for the stay is required. On the television there are ZDF to receive, to read news from home to learn. But here use determines the most of the internet or the smartphones (wlan = free = daily 3 hours). Balcony was quite large, had a table and 2 chairs. Depending on the location of the accommodation in the room through the hotel until 23 hours noisy.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There was a main restaurant, a grill and italian restaurant, the arrangement and without additional payment can be used. A lebanese restaurant is at an extra cost. For hunger during the day there is a snack bar on the beach available. At 3 bars, the thirst be deleted. Note for guests, possibly half board want: the prices for the food in the snack bar are german adjusted (example: pizza for 7-8 Euro ), the prices for the drinks are still german (example: beer 0, 5liter for 3 Euro, cocktail for 10-11 Euro, kl. Glass of wine for €3.50). If you want a good tasters is, with all inclusive probably cheaper?! The food with the breakfast was very english aligned, i. e. bratwurst, liver etc. Are no rarity. But when german finds one also always something, hard to get used to the very small selection of cheese and sausage. Lunch and dinner were offered in buffet form, it is all in order, but perhaps not necessarily particularly, but that should be no k. o. -criterion for the hotel. A corner with indian dishes are offered daily. The restaurant is very nice and comfortably in the african-style. Final conclusion: here none must hungern, quality and quantity is good and acceptable, it is sometimes a lack the special touch, but this is quality on a high level.

  • Service
    5.0

    African friendly - and warmth of all the employees were very capitalized and lived. Always a smile, always helpfulness, if necessary. English is the main language, however, some of the staff also understand german and some speak. The rooms were cleaned properly, the animation team is welcoming, but unobtrusive. In summary can be mentioned here, that from the staff for the guest everything done, so that it in the holiday feel and recovers from the vacation return.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entertainment was good and unobtrusive. There were different activities offered, no boredom arise. There are: kids club, beachwalking, water aerobics, water polo, water Volleyball, beach volleyball, beach soccer, Bocce etc.! Available at the beach from about 09:00 a. m. too few beach chairs available, because here the reserving of the beach chairs with towels occurs. On the beach there were also umbrellas. The pool chairs in the garden area are still longer time available, umbrellas were only a few, but more shade-giving palms and trees. Outstanding are the 2 very large and beautiful pool areas.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Southern palms beach resort is a medium sized hotel, divided over several buildings, which were very beautifully imbedded in the nature are (= they weren't concrete blocks). Already with the arrival immediately the african atmosphere to feel. The overall impression is clean, and the area was kept clean. The guests come from India, Germany, Austria, Netherlands, England and Russia. As the nationalities percentage together, i can't rate. In december were all age groups represented (exception: schoolable children). The hotel is half-board and universe inclusive are.

  • Location
    5.0

    The transfer from the airport took about 1.5 hours. Ukunda the place is lt. travel agency not much offer, so that the actual stay in the hotel takes place. But there are for half-board guests the possibility, in supermarkets or similar beverages and other shopping, to the very high incidentals at the hotel not paying. The hotel is located directly on the beach.

Close
Christiane
Again a super holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
We were jestzt the 6 time in Kenya and to 2 time in southern palms. It pleased us again very well. Had a nice, clean room. Were with all inclusive very good, the food was tasty. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Something has us also disturbed, the many crows, they have very much noise and were therefore very annoying. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We were satisfied. Air conditioning hardly used it, because it was too loud.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food was good. Everything was always tidy and clean.

  • Service
    6.0

    We were totally satisfied. Rooms were always well presented.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    I above already mentioned, everything was great.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We were jestzt the 6 time in Kenya and to 2 time in southern palms. It pleased us again very well. Had a nice, clean room. Were with all inclusive very good, the food was tasty. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Something has us also disturbed, the many crows, they have very much noise and were therefore very annoying.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach is very clean and tidy. Swimming in the pool and in the sea is just great. For shoppinf and for excursions we got our friend kennedy or okeyo of kenpalsafaris, Diani fun sports shopping center corporate headquarters. Has us request pick up. Safari this time we were tsavo east 3 days, was really great, very many animals and very nice landscapes seen, kennedy has us this time accompanied. We will definitely come again.

Close
Lutz
We come back gladly!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Great hotel, huge very clean pools. The chefs from the fishing own grilled fish. Very courteous. The fish restaurant on the sea can be highly recommended. For 35 Euro a lobster menu from the finest. The lobster could a person hardly create. The only, which from and didn't bother us, were guests, who didn't behave. Oh well, as everywhere. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Thomas
Good hotel with small flaws.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Hotel with 300 rooms. The hotel is older than 20 years, but it was constantly kept clean. It has, inter alia, a large pool and garden area, several bars, snack bar, internet room, large open dining room. Wi-fi is free. Offered was half board and all inclusive. The hotel is primarily Poland, german and indians visited. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms in the older condition, but cleaned every day. Cleanliness was very good. Rooms are cleaned daily with insect repellent treatment. In addition the mosquito nets on the evening let down. Minibar also with universe. Including against fee. The room boy was very helpful and friendly. Impeccable service. Large balcony with 2 chairs and table. In front of the room there was always a security guard security.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The hotel has a main restaurant, beach bar, pizzeria, grill restaurant (staff cut meat and pineapple on sticks directly at the table on the plates) and a lebanese restaurant. In addition you can against fee on the beach. The libenesisches restaurant was in the time of my stay not open. Drink prices for the cocktails and longdrinks (with half board) unacceptable. Much too expensive. Cocktails (no boarding school. Spirits) not particularly tasty about 10 Euro per cocktail. Longdrinks (local spirits) plus coca Cola etc. Circa 8 Euro. Beer lay with 320 shillings, soft drinks 150 shillings. Service in the main restaurant was good. At the grill restaurant and pizzeria is the service depended on the day. Here one must already even wait a while. Pizzeria went, taste of the food was average. Service in the grill restaurant also different - even very slow. After an hour, i made it quite clear, that we no longer wait on the food. On this evening, the service was catastrophic (where about 20g, guests with fat betropft ). Even the sign for the drinks should be a felt eternity last. Are immediately to the main restaurant left to return for an evening meal. After a complaint we were asked on another day the grill restaurant. Here the service was perfect (complaint had probably helped). Taste of the food was very good. A downer was the choice of sausage and cheese at breakfast (a sort sausage and 2 sorts of cheese). You can always find something, which tasted however after 2 weeks omelet you can also this not see more. Beans and english breakfast is not everyone taste. As indian warm dishes for breakfast. International spirits against fee, different cocktails were not in all. Inclusive program inclusive (which were not probably premium)

  • Service
    5.0

    On service and friendliness in this hotel especially paid attention to. Mainly english spoken. German is sometimes also understood. Staff at the reception friendly and helpfully. Larger sums of money i would not in the hotel exchange, as you a bad exchange rate gets. Instead to barclay bank and with the visa map money from the machine (exchange rate machine 1 Euro =116 shillings/hotel 1 Euro =104 bobs). The room was always cleaned very well (thanks to Omar). Handling of complaints/notes spotless. Repairs were fixed in an hour (sliding door from the balcony, non-functioning electrical outlet).

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Two large landscaped pools are available. Because the heat no large erfrischungseffekt. Condition of the pools was good. Beach chairs available. The evening entertainment at the pool close to the beach instead. If you get a room in my view, be lost. Loud music, until in the night... And that every evening. Entertainment unobtrusive, if you don't want to take part. Beach 'top'. Unfortunately the permanent reserve the couches also in Kenya taken hold. Mainly pensioners walking in the very early morning the beach for beach chairs with towels to assemble. Unfortunately, many beach chairs unused, although these were reserved. Here the hotel should help. Sunbathing on the beach because of the security personnel possible. The beachboys this of the couches away. On the last day were lots of indian tourists arrived, which even in the pool wanted to eat. This was probably from the management allowed. Also, the indian guests in the pool shisha smoke (no comment!) Whether the indian owner of the hotel that allowed, i don't know. But this behaviour is in my opinion a joke.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Hotel with 300 rooms. The hotel is older than 20 years, but it was constantly kept clean. It has, inter alia, a large pool and garden area, several bars, snack bar, internet room, large open dining room. Wi-fi is free. Offered was half board and all inclusive. The hotel is primarily Poland, german and indians visited.

  • Location
    5.0

    The southern palms is right on the beach. The drive from the airport to the hotel took about 1.5 hours. To the next town it was about 2 kilometer. the next shopping possibility (supermarket) was about 2 kilometer away. This way you should with the taxi company, because otherwise you constantly from locals spoke, the different things wish to sell.

Close
Donatella
Beautiful hotel, great staff and wonderful service!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
A very well-maintained hotel, super-friendly staff, very efficient service and stunning location. The gardens are lovely, the beach beautiful (except for the awful Kenyan beach boys which the hotel cannot do much about except keep them out of the hotel compound, which of course they do!) and the food is just amazing - there is an incredible amount of choice, making it very hard to limit yourself!!! I do wonder,however,what happens to the left over food. there is just so much of it. I wish it would go to needy Kenyan families or to the staff because there ... is just too much, but absolutely delicious.A nice idea is the option of dining in the grill or italian restaurant where dinner is served at the table (rather than self-service) and feels like a special treat. All in all, I felt this hotel offered excellent value for money (booked as a package) and of particular note was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Thank you!! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 9