Hotel The Fairmont Royal York Toronto(4.5 stars)

100 Front St W View on map

Average rating

30 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    4.8
  • Service
    5.5
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
13 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Jim
Excellent: Will defintely stay again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Business trip
  • May 2014
I came all the way from Australia and found this a very friendly hotel right from entering the lobby. Nice old world charm with up-to-date features. The Lobby Bar is an excellent p;lace to meet for a quiet chat and nibbles. The wine list and beer list are extensive and service excellent. The rooms are large and well appointed with a decent sized deslk to work from. Mini bar, large screen TV and a large and well appointed bathroom. The restaurant on the ground floor is also excellent with room between the tables so you have some privacy. Really ... enjoyed my stay and will come again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Large room and I had two double beds still with room to move around. Comfortable arm chair and large closet. Room was very clean. No issues at all.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The breakfast and dinner menu in the restaurant was great. Full range on offer and at dinner time, a nice wine list.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service in all respects was excellent. Friendly, quick and attentive.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    I came all the way from Australia and found this a very friendly hotel right from entering the lobby. Nice old world charm with up-to-date features. The Lobby Bar is an excellent p;lace to meet for a quiet chat and nibbles. The wine list and beer list are extensive and service excellent. The rooms are large and well appointed with a decent sized deslk to work from. Mini bar, large screen TV and a large and well appointed bathroom. The restaurant on the ground floor is also excellent with room between the tables so you have some privacy. Really enjoyed my stay and will come again.

  • Location
    5.0

    Very well situated on Front Street across from the main stattion where, in about 18 months time, the new Airport to City train will start and stop.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Sandy
Great hotel for business trips archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Business trip
  • March 2012
Good hotel for a business trip. Clean, beautiful, classy and a great location. Not too modern and not too much going on, which was nice. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Marco
Despite the old age but stylish hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2011
Yes, the ravages of time was weathered the hotel! A thorough renovation of the rooms would be necessary. Beds are okay, new tv available. But old wallpaper, is partly yellowed and from the wall. Size of the bathroom and facilities are not up-to-date anymore. The lobby spreads its stylish Charme, directly in front of the hotel was the free airport shuttle bus to the city airport and the bus to the into. Access to the underground system path airport, the train station and underground/trams available. Complimentary business center if you don't expect the perfect luxury, a fair price and the ... location to appreciate is not wrong read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Andreas
Charm of the last century archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • May 2011
I immediately in the charm of the last century in love and lost. This is a right from the outside, just right in the lobby and certainly in many rooms mediated. Who looks for and likes, is here surely correctly. However!, Charm of old time always means also drawbacks to modern ambience, new bathroom and facilities and much more. Pay for you otherwise with a quite central location to the train station and direct access to the underground path-a great System, to bad weather dryshod around half the city. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Simone & Markus
Great hotel in a perfect location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
Top hotel, well worth the 5 stars. Guest structure all nationalities and all ages to find. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was clean and spacious, everything as one expected from a 5 star hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Friendly, well-trained staff.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Internet access available but you have to pay. Pool also available, we only didn't use, so can't say much about it. lots of shopping possibilities available.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Top hotel, well worth the 5 stars. Guest structure all nationalities and all ages to find.

  • Location
    6.0

    Excellent location, all easily and quickly accessible. Regarding the location I would say "doesn't get any better than this". CN Tower in 5-10 minutes walking distance. The U-Bahn is a few steps away. Harbor to the Toronto islands (ferry) 5 -10 minutes away. PATH direct access from the hotel (sometimes because a lot of shopping possibilities in the immediate vicinity). Directly across from central station (don't worry at the hotel notice anything from the trains).

Close
Stefan
Here you can breathe pure history archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2010
Like in all the hotels in the Fairmont group is a great lack of responsiveness. You enter the hotel you have to carry your luggage over 20 steps up to reception and then they asked the guests whether you need assistance with our luggage. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Service
    4.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Gabriele
Dated room archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2010
Our room was very loud (near the lift). Our room was old, further the hotel corridors smelled musty. The wet room was not cleaned properly. The hotel is situated in the center, CN Tower and the harbor are within walking distance. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Mariane
A great hotel for a city break! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • June 2010
We have 4 days in this hotel spent. From the airport one was within 45 minutes drive from the hotel. The bus stops direct in front of the door. The check in ran without any problems, the staff were very friendly (as all other Canadians from, we met). Foreign languages skills of the staff we didn't tested. The lobby of the hotel is impressive, it's 100 years ago. From the lobby you can direct in the background of the city. Everything was spotlessly clean. Not in the slightest comparable with German underground Systems. the room was old fashioned equipped, but ... clean and comfortable. Bothering we didn't have a lot of noise. Eaten we didn't in the hotel. from the hotel are the most sights easy to reach on foot. The CN tower is in the immediate proximity, to port a massive mall and you can walk. all together this hotel is highly recommended on all counts. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Monika
Nice hotel in the middle of the action archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2010
Large hotel with over 1000 rooms directly to Union Station. One of the oldest "Grand hotels" of Canada and you can tell that a lot of time and money in preserving the nice façade and lobby was put. Mixed structure of guests from tourists, business travelers, and wedding guests (there were several weddings in the period in the we have stayed there) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms on the executive floor is highly recommended. You could see that the rooms all not to long ago primed have been renovated. They are not very big but cozy. We had a very comfortable bed, a large flat screen TV, minibar with a water heater and a coffee maker. Our window looked directly to the CN Tower which look at night was a sight. Just what the size of the baths as far as I can agree with my written. For such a hotel that really too small, especially if you are ready to 'two ...

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Since we were on the executive floor its own Frühstückraums, we didn't try the breakfast in the large hall. I can only say that the breakfast was also very good, but felt it looked due to the many guests a bit hectic and chaotic.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was super helpful and friendly. The room cleaning was also very nice and thorough (unfortunately a bit to thorough, as my pajamas directly with the bedsheets when they threw away: -() We had for a few dollars more a room on the executive floor (12th floor) which was I would highly recommend. There is a separate breakfast room, which is very convenient as it in the large hall sometimes hectic. A very good breakfast with a large variety of food (also of hot food) and throughout the day there were cakes, appetizers, and all soft drinks for free. The executive floor additionally offers its own front desk, so check-in and check-out went quickly accordingly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool was available, but we didn't use it. Looked but large enough to swim a few laps (there were special times for swimmers, where Children not allowed). The fitness room was absolutely ok: big enough has a variety of cardiovascular equipment but also weight machines, and free weights.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Large hotel with over 1000 rooms directly to Union Station. One of the oldest "Grand hotels" of Canada and you can tell that a lot of time and money in preserving the nice façade and lobby was put. Mixed structure of guests from tourists, business travelers, and wedding guests (there were several weddings in the period in the we have stayed there)

  • Location
    6.0

    As we only had 2 days to explore and Toronto, the hotel was the perfect location for all attractions either on foot or from Union Station (the underground is directly connected to the hotel) easily reached by metro.

Close
Werner
Top location, great facade, rooms very tired archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2009
Old, stylish and large hotel, which was more than through the room with a façade convinced us. Very nice architecture from the outside and in the lobby. Was mostly business travelers. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    Our double room was in no way our expectations after check-in as well as the imposing facade and lobby of the hotel. It was tiny, dark and extremely worn. Thick, plush curtains and carpets made the room even smaller than it already was. Small, old bathroom with toilet, bath with shower (curtain), but large mirror. No in-room safe. Tiny tubes TV. Room cleaning was ok. Hair dryer and coffee maker with typical US-coffee were available.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    5.0

    Check-in without any problems and friendly. Since we had already had to 11:00 at the hotel were, we couldn't move right into the room, but able to leave our bags. These were a voucher locked in a separate room. During our stay in the hotel the atmosphere was busy because apparently fully booked. On our hotel bill was a heading from the vending machine, but we never used it or had never seen before. At reception it was immediately with the hint that this is probably more often get testy canceled.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.0

    Old, stylish and large hotel, which was more than through the room with a façade convinced us. Very nice architecture from the outside and in the lobby. Was mostly business travelers.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location of the hotel is ideal for a trip to Toronto. All the central attractions such as for example. CN Tower are within walking distance. Access to the underground shopping mall (PATH) directly from the lobby. Parking only than valet parking. We have two blocks away in the parking garage parking, for half the but our bags rolled 10 minute walk to the hotel: -)

Close
Dirk
Past its best! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • August 2009
The Fairmont Royal York has its prime unfortunately behind it. Very impressive from the outside it may seem and conveys the hotellobby also: This is a bunker in the guests as the generic cleared. The rooms were at first glance ok, but at the second then but badly in need of repair. This is not what I expect from a hotel of this class. The sheets were partly holes, the shower wasn't cleaned, as good as everywhere in the corners was dust and the wallpaper were partly geschlissen. Next time I will surely not there again. Appearances can be! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Hotel
    2.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Heinz
Stylish hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2009
Great and stylish in prädestinierter location for sightseeing. Train station across the street, CN Tower within walking distance, access to the PATH system from the lobby. Hassle-free check in/out, and valet parking. More helpful and talented concierge. The room and especially the bathrooms are a bit small, but big enough for a shorter stay. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Dirk
No service, unfriendly staff archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2009
Definitely take ear plugs. The elevators are so loud that you would think a train leads past as soon as the counterbalance movement occurs. The male staff are not tried hard to friendly. The bathroom was extremely limited and cramped for such a hotel. The closet door was only with brute force opening and closing. Difficulties of vehicles of the guests is the staff in-car parking appeared overworked and sometimes still rude. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close