Hotel Ramada Liberty Resort(3.5 stars)

Express Park, Manvers Way View on map

Average rating

712 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.7
  • Room
    4.9
  • Service
    5.0
  • Location
    4.4
  • Food and Drinks
    4.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
171 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Maureen & Norman
Great hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
We were a family group aged 7 to 64,it was our second time here and once again we all had a great time. All the staff , eg.... cleaner's, bar staff, waiters animation and management were all so kind and friendly. The hotel is well run, always activities going on with the animation. The pool is very large with different areas to suit all ages. Lots of sunbeds and mattresses and lots of umbrellas to shade from sun read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Our room was facing the sea we had to go down stairs to get to it. The room was kept clean with a very large terrace outside. The only downside to this is there was no lifts in that part of the hotel so we had to climb stairs each time, and l only say this because we are elderly. But we will be going back but will get a different room.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Our room was kept very clean with our sheets being changed a couple of times. Inside and outside by the pool of the hotel was kept tidy, barman always wiping tables and collecting cups etc. Very happy with everything by pool

  • Service
    6.0

    The hotel has its own beach which is a short walk away, its lovely down there , you can still get your all inclusive drinks on the beach and can eat there ovnce during your stay

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Lots of activities happening all day, my grandchildren loved the mini disco and animation shows at night. Great fun.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We were a family group aged 7 to 64,it was our second time here and once again we all had a great time. All the staff , eg.... cleaner's, bar staff, waiters animation and management were all so kind and friendly. The hotel is well run, always activities going on with the animation. The pool is very large with different areas to suit all ages. Lots of sunbeds and mattresses and lots of umbrellas to shade from sun

  • Location
    5.0

    Outside the hotel there are always taxis waiting if you want to go to sousse or monistair very cheap only 10 dinars each way which is about £3.50. Or if you prefer there are bus stop as well outside hotel to take you to same places. There is a lovely shopping centre in monistair really enjoyed going there.

Close
Gary
Love this hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Love this hotel, I always say to people I meet that it's not the best hotel in the world but if you're looking for a good value for money, family friendly and excellent customer care then this is the place to go. I have been many times and always look forward to my next visit. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Vicky
Great holiday in Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
I stayed in this hotel the second week of July. First impressions were a really nice lovely hotel. Staffs are friendly. Room was nice clean. Food was nice and various. I like the Tunisian Food. I like very much the organization of tables, towels, and the effort of waiters. Everyone was caring for a group of client and we feel comfortable especially at lunch and at dinner. For this good organization we thanks Mr ALI the restaurant manager who is young, still smiling, brilliant in his work and don’t leave the hotel before he ensures that all customers are satisfied. ... He tries his utmost to respond to all. The animation team was great and make us always happy and impression to the show.-) would come back to Tunisia AND ESPECIALLY Ramada Liberty Hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Max
Fantastic family friendly hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
I have visited this hotel so many times and am always amazed how much it is improving, didn't think it could get better! So much more for the kids, bouncy castles, trampoline, cinema room, just fantastic! The BBQ just gets better Amine is an excellent waiter. Give the Ramada liberty a try you won't be disappointed! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sophie
A tunisian treat!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
My friend and I booked our week long holiday here via low cost holidays as a last minute deal and we could not have asked for better. All in all we could not have been more looked after. We will definitely be returning to Ramada Liberty and you would be mad not to make it your holiday destination of choice :) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was cleaned to a high standard each day and although some reviews speak of noise from the hotel nightclub we heard nothing and slept well each night in our extremely comfortable beds.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food at the hotel was good and hygiene maintained daily by the resident hotel inspector (we were not sick once). At breakfast there is an egg and a crepe station and a variety of pastries to choose from. There were many different dishes on offer in the main restaurant every lunchtime and evening and, as all inclusive guests, we were able to spend a lunchtime at the poolside Barbeque restaurant (which was delicious) and an evening meal in the A La Carte restaurant (also very good). The waiters were fantastic and catered for our every need. The restaurant manager Ali was wonderful and we would now call him a good friend. There were no restrictions as to the amount of drinks allowed and the bar staff were tip top, remembering our orders and always smiling and joking with us. The hotel also has its own beach bar and lifeguard (the beach is a two minute walk across the road).

  • Service
    6.0

    The hotel was amazing (see pictures attached). The helpful concierge allowed us to check in early and we were taken to our delightful room overlooking the huge outdoor pool (beautifully clean with excellent lifeguard). The hotel has a shop onsite which supplies many essentials and souvenirs. It is possible to change money at the front desk without difficulty and safety deposit boxes are available in the rooms for a very small price. There is also a large and sumptuous spa onsite. We partook in the hammam bath and exfoliation scrub which left us silky smooth and smelling wonderful. We loved it so much we popped back later in the week for massages. Staff in the spa are all female and highly skilled, providing a truly relaxing experience. There were trips on offer at the hotel (camel rides, quad biking) and there was even a hotel photographer for those fancying a photoshoot.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment programme was the best we have ever seen. There was always something to do in the day - water polo, archery, darts, volleyball, aerobics, aqua aerobics, yoga, mini golf, zumba - it would be impossible to get bored. There was also a mini cinema playing children's movies, an indoor pool, a gym, kids play area, and pool and air hockey tables. There is also a cute and typically arabic style shisha lounge by reception which is showing all world cup games for those football fanatics amongst you! The hotel is most definitely family friendly and fun for those of all ages. The staff are wonderful with children - in fact it is worth mentioning here that a couple who arrived with us had terrible trouble when the airline did not pack their 9 month old's pushchair. Within 20 minutes of discovering this the hotel manager Sami had purchased one for them to use for the duration of their stay. It was the little personal touches like this that really made the hotel excellent. Evening entertainment was outstanding. We laughed hard at the comedy night, played bingo, enjoyed watching the karaoke, and loved the Tunisian dancers and musicians. All of the entertainment team were very talented and enthusiastic engaging guests in the shows with ease. In fact it was beacause of this that we met many new people from around the world. Our entertainment highlight was Rio and Boda's spectacular firebreathing - unbelievable!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    My friend and I booked our week long holiday here via low cost holidays as a last minute deal and we could not have asked for better. All in all we could not have been more looked after. We will definitely be returning to Ramada Liberty and you would be mad not to make it your holiday destination of choice :)

  • Location
    5.0

    We travelled by private taxi into El Jem to see the historic collosseum and a mosaic museum (£3.70 for entry to both and definite must sees). We also took the local bus into Monastir (for 25 pence) on Saturday to see the local market - a crazy cultural experience which tests all of your senses and your haggling skills! In Monsatir there is a beautiful mausoleum and cemetary, an old fort and a mosque. Monastir also has a long promenade and pretty beach.

Close
Felicity
Fantastic Holiday in Ramada Liberty Monastir!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Me and my boyfriend stayed here from the 5th July for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time! Before leaving we were a bit worried after a few bad reviews but we can honestly say these were all put to rest during our trip. As soon as we arrived which was at 11am we was told that we would have to wait for our room until 2pm which was a little frustrating although after we had lunch in the restaurant we went up to reception to ask around 1pm and was given our room straight away. Our room was very ... nice. They upgraded us straight away to a large double room which was overlooking the sea! The pool and bar areas were extremely nice. The hotel is literally on the beach which is perfect because you can go between the two and also we couldn't believe how nice the beach was with the security helping you to find a bed each time. The sea was very warm surprisingly and very clear most days, with the ability to put sun loungers and chairs in the sea to sunbathe. Further along the beach there is also a wide range of water sports to choose from for reasonable prices. The bar staff were very helpful at each of the bars which open at a variety of times with one bar staying open till 2am, the staff were all very nice but one special mention to Ali in the restaurant who made extra effort and made us feel special. The restaurant is a buffet which has a fair amount of options to choose from, in addition to other fresh serving sections including pasta / meats / pizza / fish, there is also a wide range of salads and dessert tables which we found very nice although you have to be quick for the chocolate cake! We got a table in a similar place at the buffet every night. The entertainment team who we're working constantly throughout the day and evening which included being the evening entertainment and hosting sports and activities throughout the day. The evening shows were brilliant every night throughout our 2 week. All the members of the entertainment team were always happy, getting people involved and doing a truly great job with the kids and adults, this group is an asset to the hotel and truly made our stay so great and we would come back just for these people. The HIGHLIGHT of our holiday was meeting one particular member of the restaurant team ALI ! This boy always had a smile on his face, his English was brilliant because he had a large work experience in the UK, he really did make our holiday getting us involved Throughout the evening we found ourselves staying out longer each night as the holiday went on all thanks to him getting us happy. Overall it's a fantastic holiday and we would definitely come back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Aneta
Great holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Excellent hotel, close to the beach, big and clean pool, lovely rooms. Staff were so kind and friendly, they always help with a smile. Great animation team, so positive and full of energy, we were never bored with them, special thanks for Ninou :) We had fantastic time there, I recommend to everyone. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Stacey
Great staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Staff were lovely and very helpful especially Alix he looked after us all week. A very nice guy! Also the bar staff were very nice. The entertainment was good, the reps work very hard. The food in the barbeque area was lovely. The restaurant wasn't the best food I've had but I was always satisfied. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Wayne
Substandard, terrible food, watered down beer
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • July 2014
Before I begin my review of this hotel and its location I’ll start by saying that I accept that we all have our own opinion, expectations and budgets and we all see things through very different eyes. This is my opinion based on the two weeks I spent in this hotel from 16th to 30th July 2014. I am writing this after only being back home for three days so it is all very fresh in my mind. I don’t generally read reviews before going on holiday and I have never written one before, so here goes. This is my ... honest review and without any persuasion by the animation team to write a good review whilst sat beside the pool. They will write one anyway. The Good, the Bad and the downright Ugly. Have you ever watched faulty towers.minus the classic humour? The ‘Good’ I am glad that we didn’t pay any more than we actually paid, so I feel we got away quite lightly really. Our stay was a lazy and relaxing one because that is what we wanted. The weather was fantastic and we got great tans. Our plane didn’t crash and it wasn’t shot down by the Russians on our way home (bonus). That is as much as I could say about the Good points of our stay at the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel, Skanes, Tunisia. The Bad The reality of the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes (pronounced skannez) is, in my opinion, a far cry from some of the glowing reviews written here. I will let you figure out who is writing some of those glowing reviews. The use of the words ‘Phenomenal’ and ‘Amazing’ should never be used in the same sentence as Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel. This is not a 4 star hotel by any imagination. It is at best a 2 star. It is not part of the ‘Ramada’ chain of hotels so do not be fooled by that either. It apparently was once part of that chain but was subsequently sold to a Tunisian owner who continues to trade under its predecessor’s reputation. Hotel Transfers and Hotel Location…………… We paid for the hoppa transfer and where told by the agent we booked with that the transfer was 1hr 40 minutes to the resort. The paperwork stated this too. It actually took closer to 3 hours from Enfidah airport on a shabby damaged coach with limited air conditioning. With the amount of drop offs en-route, I think the driver must have also gotten lost as he also tended to stop the coach to pick up locals or to stop and have a chat with his friends or to stop and pop into a local shop for a drink. He then drove right passed the Ramada Liberty 3 times in different directions without a hint of dropping us off until I asked him how much longer we were expected to stay on this coach. However, the return transfer only took about 1 hour and the coach used was in a better condition. If you opt for a taxi or private transfer (which I would suggest) it should cost you no more than DT60 each way (60 Tunisian Dinar) but some taxi drivers will ask for DT125 each way…. (They will try it on!). The route and journey from the airport takes you through some of the most derelict and deprived areas you are likely to see. Rubbish is everywhere. The dread of where you are going to end up soon dawns on you and it isn’t dispelled. This in itself isn’t unusual for this part of the world but unfortunately the scenery and the conditions don’t change that much upon reaching the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel as it is situated within a similar setting and within very close proximity to an industrial area. You are within close proximity to a large desalination area with acres of salt flats that sit behind the hotel. You will pass a huge main power station that is just down the road from the resort as well as passing numerous raw effluent streams/rivers that run and lead directly to the sea and enter the sea just a few km away from the private beach that the guests of the Ramada Liberty resort hotel use. More on the private beach later. The hotel location has nothing around it of interest and certainly nothing within the immediate vicinity for guests staying here. There is however a shopping complex, a Mexican restaurant and a karting track about 25 minute walk away or 5 minutes by horse and cart but very little in the way of anything much to see en-route. Outside the main entrance to the hotel are a couple of horse drawn carriages that act as taxis as well as a few yellow taxi cabs. Friendly enough and they will happily take you wherever you want to go but be sure to arrange a price before doing so. To get to Sousse, the nearest town for your shopping and markets etc, it is DT10 one way. The driver will usually hang around for you and drive you back for an additional DT10. The Mexican restaurant and karting track are at the same site and 5 minutes driven by horse and cart for DT10 each way. The Mexican restaurant is a hit and miss. It is run by Tunisians so don’t expect Escobar to be serving you up any truly traditional Mexican food cooked in a truly traditional way! Yes, they do a Mexican menu but it ain’t Mexican! We had two outings to the Mexican to get away from the terrible food at the Ramada Liberty. Our first Mexican meal (steak and chips) was ok. However, our second Mexican meal (steak and chips) was worse than the Ramada Liberty food so I wouldn’t recommend going on those odds. We had a go at the karting and that was good and reasonably priced. There is a medical centre directly opposite so if your brakes fail and you get injured you haven’t got far to travel to get treated. More Bad.The Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel itself what can I say? On first seeing it I felt a little relieved due to the visuals of the journey in from the airport and the surrounding areas. Once inside, my first impressions of the lobby area and reception area was initially ok and our welcome at reception was pleasant enough. We had arrived at the very end of lunchtime (2:30) so we were directed straight into the dining area for something to eat. The food was literally our first real taste of the experience of things to come. Closer inspection of the lobby area revealed tired, battered and frayed furniture and old flaky paintwork. After an unappetising start, the walk to our room was down an unlit corridor that was fitted with what appeared to be a 1970’s red tatty stained and worn carpet that is cleaned down the centre but has a build-up of dust and dirt around the edges. Our suitcases where taken to our room for us and we tipped the bell boy in sterling as we had yet to change any money. (Rate of exchange was 2.88 DT to £). The room was comfy enough and served its purpose of sleep and shower but was very dated and not what you would expect for a 4 star in any country. An old box TV with no remote control and poor aerial reception with one English speaking channel. No fridge, despite it stating one was fitted in the brochure. A fridge could be fitted at extra. A wall safe was fitted but this requires a fee of DT15 per week with a DT20 refundable deposit on checkout. The bathroom looked as if it had been fitted by a 10 year old in 1970. No plug in the sink and a crack in the sink bowl and badly grouted and stained grout throughout the entire bathroom. Often cracked and missing in places. The bath and its lime scaled fittings had seen better days and the wall tiling looked as if it had been slapped on and grouted with a toothbrush head and was now attracting visible signs of black mould that rubbed off with the stroke of a finger but was never cleaned by the cleaner. A shower head that was barely fitted to the wall that would begin to spin anti clockwise and then clockwise when the power was increased. Yes, as someone else has stated, a decent pressure but it isn’t directed to where it should be and it covers the bathroom. This often resulted in the water being sprayed in all directions onto the ceiling, up the walls and over the dated and dirty shower curtain and onto the bathroom floor, which then seeped under the door and into the living area of the room. This then required mopping up using the supplied room towels which often where never replaced in full. but as pointed out by other reviewers here. the room was clean ish (sort of). The mattresses to all three beds where old and stained. You can use you own imagination as to stained with what. Our balcony overlooked the pool, which initially was a bonus but as the days went on the excessive volume of noise from the relatively small night time entertainment area can be a little irritating, particularly when that entertainment consisted of nothing more than an over hyped animation team running around shouting at each other dressed in large nappies hitting each other with pieces of tubed foam or conducting some tired old dance routines that looked to be the same each time but wearing different costumes. Bizarre ‘entertainment’ and ‘comedy sketches’ but apparently very funny according to some of the reviews here? It wasn’t funny or entertaining and the audience was usually slimmed down to some diehard drinkers by 11:00pm. The external grounds to the resort are very basic. A few grassed areas and a few concreted areas with a central focus of a large outdated pool. On closer inspection the pool was not as it appeared in the many stunning photographs displayed. The fungus and mouldy slime growth around the edges of the pool and just below the water line in many areas is a concern. Thick and black a very visible, particularly when you are at the edge of the pool. A very small children’s pool with an old and dated plastic elephant slide that looks to have been there since 1970 too. A small children’s play area with two rusted swings that are in dire need of either a paint job or completely changing for new and a trampoline. The Shop in the Lobby…… Let me give you an example. Bought a football shirt in Sousse for DT28. The shop owner in the hotel lobby wanted DT300 for a similar shirt. Almost 10 times the cost. Be warned! The Ugly……. Atrocious food hygiene. The chefs or cooks are generally unhygienic and routinely seen using the same cooking utensils for cooked and uncooked meats and poultry. I appreciate that it is a third world country but this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel that caters for paying guests from around the world! The food is bland, unappetising and often undercooked if cooked at all. Stomach complaints amongst the quests we spoke to where common. I will usually eat a scabby horse and will try just about anything when away to get a taste of different culture etc so fish and chips, nuggets and burgers etc are generally of the menu for me when away. However, due to the standard of alternatives on offer here I often needed to resort to those foods and the bread just to be able to eat something. Unfortunately the Tunisian chips, fish, nuggets and burgers follow much the same standard as the rest of the food they offered here and the bread begins to make you bloat after a while. In a resort with something like 500 people at the time I was there (600 this week, poor sods) they had two toasters. One silver industrial toaster that required the bread to be put in it 5 times to get it anywhere near toasted and another simple little black pop up toaster similar to what we buy at home with two pop up bread sections. Due to the ineffectiveness of the silver industrial toaster, this little black toaster usually had a line of people queuing for it. It eventually burned out or the fuse went. I actually watched as one of the waiters upturned that little black toaster and began shaking its burned contents over the bread that was in the basket below, then shaking that basket of bread to hide what he had just done. He noticed that I has seen what he had done and began telling me that it was all ok. Pathetic. Food reheated and reused. Typical of all-inclusive resorts but on a scale never seen like this before. Food not covered and often left to the flies. Cheese and meat trays that contained cheeses and meats that curled and sweated. Meats not cooked and regularly served undercooked in all restaurant areas, particularly the kebab meats and chicken/turkey/beef/pork dishes. Food dishes that where constantly produced that nobody seemed to touch at all yet they would be on the menu day in day out. Meat pies with no filling whatsoever. The rats. Yes, they do have them. Due to the lack of cleaning of the hard walking surface areas around parts of the grounds and the pool you can meet the rats first thing in the morning scurrying around the pool and around the sun beds that you then spend all day on. General daily build-up of glasses and plastic beakers containing the remnants of soft drinks and beer that is then routinely tipped onto the floor or poured into the surrounding plant bowls by those waiter staff collecting them. The flies and lots of them. Attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and in the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The bees and lots of them. Again, attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and poured into the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The wasps and lots of them. Again, attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and in the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The bat crap. The local wildlife will do what they do but you would expect it to be cleaned up once they do it, particularly when it covers a specific portion of a guest’s balcony every day. The routinely unwashed and dirty yellow and orange plastic beakers used by everyone day in and day out when going to the bar for a refreshing drink. If I wanted the dregs of the previous persons Pernod or White Wine with my own freshly poured watered down beer then I would have asked for it. The concrete floor areas. Dirty, deteoriating, rough on the feet, often covered with broken glass for days without any attempt at cleaning up, sticky and crawling in flies, wasps and bees. The food preparation areas, particularly that of the Barbeque restaurant area. I witnessed the preparation of pizza bases on worktops that where covered in flies eating remnants of pizza toppings and crepe pancakes. Never once did I touch or eat the pizza from that restaurant and I fed the crepes to the birds. The sweating cooks/chefs who’s own sweat was constantly dripping from their faces directly onto food that was being preparing or served, who would then wipe that sweat away with his hand and then handle that food with the same hand whilst preparing it or passing it to guests. Disgusting. The Private Beach & Beach Restaurant. The private beach is about a 5 minute walk out of the front of the hotel, across the road and down a passage way that is lined on the left side with a tall white wall topped with cemented smashed glass bottles, presumably to deter the unfortunate guests from escaping the 3 star hotel that it surrounded. The right side of the passageway is lined with a smaller white wall that in sections is cracked and close to toppling over and is daubed with graffiti. This white walled litter strewn passage leads you to the private beach and the lovely white sand that is interlaced with cigarette butts, camel droppings, coke cans, plastic bottles, plastic bags and general rubbish. To go for a swim you first need to tackle the 3 meter wide sway of seaweed that laps the shore and then presumably tackle and dodge the human excrement that is spilling into the sea from just a few km’s up the coast. We didn’t venture into the sea for a swim nor did we spend any more time at the private beach. The beach restaurant is nothing more than a wooden hut decked with 5 sets of white plastic B&Q garden furniture. The stench of the toilets that are in very close proximity to the cooking and eating area was enough for us to decline our booked table so we can’t comment on the standard of food served at that particular hotel restaurant. The Barbeque Restaurant. This is situated beside the pool and you need to book this, which gives the impression of a better standard. We used it twice and very disappointing on both occasions. Food no better standard than the main restaurant. The kebab meat was burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. The chicken burger was not chicken but beef. The Al A Carte Restaurant. This is situated inside the main building and again needed to be booked in advance which also gives the impression of a better standard. WRONG. Worse than ever. The Staff. I don’t feel they need any specific or special praise or mention for a job they should be doing anyway. They can smile and they can be grumpy. Service can be good and it can be bad. Bottom line is that the staff are paid to do a job. Their job is to house me, feed me and entertain me. Their house was substandard, they fed me crap with a smile and they didn’t entertain me. The animation team seem to be the glue that keeps the place going but they do so through underhand tactics rather than on merit in my opinion. Can be very pushy to some guests about reviews so please leave writing your own review until you get home and do it from a PC or laptop rather than a mobile phone whilst sat next to the pool speaking with the animation team! In summary. the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes, Tunisia is a substandard resort with substandard accommodation and no more than a 2 star at best. It is tired and dated and in dire need of modernising to bring it up to anywhere near it’s perceived 4 star rating. The food hygiene and standard of food is diabolical in all areas and the entertainment is awful. The alcohol and beer is watered down and served in coloured plastic beakers that are not adequately cleaned and the general standard of cleanliness around the resort grounds has you pestered by flies, bees and wasps throughout the day. The room is comfortable enough but very basic and needs additional cost for security of personal items and cold drinks. This is my opinion and my view of this resort. Hope it helps. I won’t be going back and I will NOT be recommending this resort to family and friends. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    Very basic, no fridge un less you want to pay for it and you will have to pay for the safe.

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    terrible, uncooked, raw. The kids will struggle.

  • Service
    1.0

    Inconsistent but better if you tip.

  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0

    The usual sports with substandard equipment and some only for those over 14 years of age.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    Before I begin my review of this hotel and its location I’ll start by saying that I accept that we all have our own opinion, expectations and budgets and we all see things through very different eyes. This is my opinion based on the two weeks I spent in this hotel from 16th to 30th July 2014. I am writing this after only being back home for three days so it is all very fresh in my mind. I don’t generally read reviews before going on holiday and I have never written one before, so here goes. This is my honest review and without any persuasion by the animation team to write a good review whilst sat beside the pool. They will write one anyway. The Good, the Bad and the downright Ugly. Have you ever watched faulty towers...minus the classic humour? The ‘Good’ ... I am glad that we didn’t pay any more than we actually paid, so I feel we got away quite lightly really. Our stay was a lazy and relaxing one because that is what we wanted. The weather was fantastic and we got great tans. Our plane didn’t crash and it wasn’t shot down by the Russians on our way home (bonus). That is as much as I could say about the Good points of our stay at the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel, Skanes, Tunisia. The Bad ... The reality of the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes (pronounced skannez) is, in my opinion, a far cry from some of the glowing reviews written here. I will let you figure out who is writing some of those glowing reviews. The use of the words ‘Phenomenal’ and ‘Amazing’ should never be used in the same sentence as Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel. This is not a 4 star hotel by any imagination. It is at best a 2 star. It is not part of the ‘Ramada’ chain of hotels so do not be fooled by that either. It apparently was once part of that chain but was subsequently sold to a Tunisian owner who continues to trade under its predecessor’s reputation. Hotel Transfers and Hotel Location…………… We paid for the hoppa transfer and where told by the agent we booked with that the transfer was 1hr 40 minutes to the resort. The paperwork stated this too. It actually took closer to 3 hours from Enfidah airport on a shabby damaged coach with limited air conditioning. With the amount of drop offs en-route, I think the driver must have also gotten lost as he also tended to stop the coach to pick up locals or to stop and have a chat with his friends or to stop and pop into a local shop for a drink. He then drove right passed the Ramada Liberty 3 times in different directions without a hint of dropping us off until I asked him how much longer we were expected to stay on this coach. However, the return transfer only took about 1 hour and the coach used was in a better condition. If you opt for a taxi or private transfer (which I would suggest) it should cost you no more than DT60 each way (60 Tunisian Dinar) but some taxi drivers will ask for DT125 each way….. (They will try it on!). The route and journey from the airport takes you through some of the most derelict and deprived areas you are likely to see. Rubbish is everywhere. The dread of where you are going to end up soon dawns on you and it isn’t dispelled. This in itself isn’t unusual for this part of the world but unfortunately the scenery and the conditions don’t change that much upon reaching the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel as it is situated within a similar setting and within very close proximity to an industrial area. You are within close proximity to a large desalination area with acres of salt flats that sit behind the hotel. You will pass a huge main power station that is just down the road from the resort as well as passing numerous raw effluent streams/rivers that run and lead directly to the sea and enter the sea just a few km away from the private beach that the guests of the Ramada Liberty resort hotel use. More on the private beach later. The hotel location has nothing around it of interest and certainly nothing within the immediate vicinity for guests staying here. There is however a shopping complex, a Mexican restaurant and a karting track about 25 minute walk away or 5 minutes by horse and cart but very little in the way of anything much to see en-route. Outside the main entrance to the hotel are a couple of horse drawn carriages that act as taxis as well as a few yellow taxi cabs. Friendly enough and they will happily take you wherever you want to go but be sure to arrange a price before doing so. To get to Sousse, the nearest town for your shopping and markets etc, it is DT10 one way. The driver will usually hang around for you and drive you back for an additional DT10. The Mexican restaurant and karting track are at the same site and 5 minutes driven by horse and cart for DT10 each way. The Mexican restaurant is a hit and miss. It is run by Tunisians so don’t expect Escobar to be serving you up any truly traditional Mexican food cooked in a truly traditional way! Yes, they do a Mexican menu but it ain’t Mexican! We had two outings to the Mexican to get away from the terrible food at the Ramada Liberty. Our first Mexican meal (steak and chips) was ok. However, our second Mexican meal (steak and chips) was worse than the Ramada Liberty food so I wouldn’t recommend going on those odds. We had a go at the karting and that was good and reasonably priced. There is a medical centre directly opposite so if your brakes fail and you get injured you haven’t got far to travel to get treated. More Bad...The Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel itself ... what can I say? On first seeing it I felt a little relieved due to the visuals of the journey in from the airport and the surrounding areas. Once inside, my first impressions of the lobby area and reception area was initially ok and our welcome at reception was pleasant enough. We had arrived at the very end of lunchtime (2:30) so we were directed straight into the dining area for something to eat. The food was literally our first real taste of the experience of things to come. Closer inspection of the lobby area revealed tired, battered and frayed furniture and old flaky paintwork. After an unappetising start, the walk to our room was down an unlit corridor that was fitted with what appeared to be a 1970’s red tatty stained and worn carpet that is cleaned down the centre but has a build-up of dust and dirt around the edges. Our suitcases where taken to our room for us and we tipped the bell boy in sterling as we had yet to change any money. (Rate of exchange was 2.88 DT to £). The room was comfy enough and served its purpose of sleep and shower but was very dated and not what you would expect for a 4 star in any country. An old box TV with no remote control and poor aerial reception with one English speaking channel. No fridge, despite it stating one was fitted in the brochure. A fridge could be fitted at extra. A wall safe was fitted but this requires a fee of DT15 per week with a DT20 refundable deposit on checkout. The bathroom looked as if it had been fitted by a 10 year old in 1970. No plug in the sink and a crack in the sink bowl and badly grouted and stained grout throughout the entire bathroom. Often cracked and missing in places. The bath and its lime scaled fittings had seen better days and the wall tiling looked as if it had been slapped on and grouted with a toothbrush head and was now attracting visible signs of black mould that rubbed off with the stroke of a finger but was never cleaned by the cleaner. A shower head that was barely fitted to the wall that would begin to spin anti clockwise and then clockwise when the power was increased. Yes, as someone else has stated, a decent pressure but it isn’t directed to where it should be and it covers the bathroom. This often resulted in the water being sprayed in all directions onto the ceiling, up the walls and over the dated and dirty shower curtain and onto the bathroom floor, which then seeped under the door and into the living area of the room. This then required mopping up using the supplied room towels which often where never replaced in full.. but as pointed out by other reviewers here.. the room was clean ish (sort of). The mattresses to all three beds where old and stained. You can use you own imagination as to stained with what. Our balcony overlooked the pool, which initially was a bonus but as the days went on the excessive volume of noise from the relatively small night time entertainment area can be a little irritating, particularly when that entertainment consisted of nothing more than an over hyped animation team running around shouting at each other dressed in large nappies hitting each other with pieces of tubed foam or conducting some tired old dance routines that looked to be the same each time but wearing different costumes. Bizarre ‘entertainment’ and ‘comedy sketches’ but apparently very funny according to some of the reviews here? It wasn’t funny or entertaining and the audience was usually slimmed down to some diehard drinkers by 11:00pm. The external grounds to the resort are very basic. A few grassed areas and a few concreted areas with a central focus of a large outdated pool. On closer inspection the pool was not as it appeared in the many stunning photographs displayed. The fungus and mouldy slime growth around the edges of the pool and just below the water line in many areas is a concern. Thick and black a very visible, particularly when you are at the edge of the pool. A very small children’s pool with an old and dated plastic elephant slide that looks to have been there since 1970 too. A small children’s play area with two rusted swings that are in dire need of either a paint job or completely changing for new and a trampoline. The Shop in the Lobby…… Let me give you an example. Bought a football shirt in Sousse for DT28. The shop owner in the hotel lobby wanted DT300 for a similar shirt. Almost 10 times the cost. Be warned! The Ugly……. Atrocious food hygiene. The chefs or cooks are generally unhygienic and routinely seen using the same cooking utensils for cooked and uncooked meats and poultry. I appreciate that it is a third world country but this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel that caters for paying guests from around the world! The food is bland, unappetising and often undercooked if cooked at all. Stomach complaints amongst the quests we spoke to where common. I will usually eat a scabby horse and will try just about anything when away to get a taste of different culture etc so fish and chips, nuggets and burgers etc are generally of the menu for me when away. However, due to the standard of alternatives on offer here I often needed to resort to those foods and the bread just to be able to eat something. Unfortunately the Tunisian chips, fish, nuggets and burgers follow much the same standard as the rest of the food they offered here and the bread begins to make you bloat after a while. In a resort with something like 500 people at the time I was there (600 this week, poor sods) they had two toasters. One silver industrial toaster that required the bread to be put in it 5 times to get it anywhere near toasted and another simple little black pop up toaster similar to what we buy at home with two pop up bread sections. Due to the ineffectiveness of the silver industrial toaster, this little black toaster usually had a line of people queuing for it. It eventually burned out or the fuse went. I actually watched as one of the waiters upturned that little black toaster and began shaking its burned contents over the bread that was in the basket below, then shaking that basket of bread to hide what he had just done. He noticed that I has seen what he had done and began telling me that it was all ok. Pathetic. Food reheated and reused. Typical of all-inclusive resorts but on a scale never seen like this before. Food not covered and often left to the flies. Cheese and meat trays that contained cheeses and meats that curled and sweated. Meats not cooked and regularly served undercooked in all restaurant areas, particularly the kebab meats and chicken/turkey/beef/pork dishes. Food dishes that where constantly produced that nobody seemed to touch at all yet they would be on the menu day in day out. Meat pies with no filling whatsoever. The rats. Yes, they do have them. Due to the lack of cleaning of the hard walking surface areas around parts of the grounds and the pool you can meet the rats first thing in the morning scurrying around the pool and around the sun beds that you then spend all day on. General daily build-up of glasses and plastic beakers containing the remnants of soft drinks and beer that is then routinely tipped onto the floor or poured into the surrounding plant bowls by those waiter staff collecting them. The flies and lots of them. Attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and in the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The bees and lots of them. Again, attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and poured into the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The wasps and lots of them. Again, attracted by the sticky and sugary remnants of the spilled drinks around the pool and in the plant bowls that is never cleaned up. The bat crap. The local wildlife will do what they do but you would expect it to be cleaned up once they do it, particularly when it covers a specific portion of a guest’s balcony every day. The routinely unwashed and dirty yellow and orange plastic beakers used by everyone day in and day out when going to the bar for a refreshing drink. If I wanted the dregs of the previous persons Pernod or White Wine with my own freshly poured watered down beer then I would have asked for it. The concrete floor areas. Dirty, deteoriating, rough on the feet, often covered with broken glass for days without any attempt at cleaning up, sticky and crawling in flies, wasps and bees. The food preparation areas, particularly that of the Barbeque restaurant area. I witnessed the preparation of pizza bases on worktops that where covered in flies eating remnants of pizza toppings and crepe pancakes. Never once did I touch or eat the pizza from that restaurant and I fed the crepes to the birds. The sweating cooks/chefs who’s own sweat was constantly dripping from their faces directly onto food that was being preparing or served, who would then wipe that sweat away with his hand and then handle that food with the same hand whilst preparing it or passing it to guests. Disgusting. The Private Beach & Beach Restaurant... The private beach is about a 5 minute walk out of the front of the hotel, across the road and down a passage way that is lined on the left side with a tall white wall topped with cemented smashed glass bottles, presumably to deter the unfortunate guests from escaping the 3 star hotel that it surrounded. The right side of the passageway is lined with a smaller white wall that in sections is cracked and close to toppling over and is daubed with graffiti. This white walled litter strewn passage leads you to the private beach and the lovely white sand that is interlaced with cigarette butts, camel droppings, coke cans, plastic bottles, plastic bags and general rubbish. To go for a swim you first need to tackle the 3 meter wide sway of seaweed that laps the shore and then presumably tackle and dodge the human excrement that is spilling into the sea from just a few km’s up the coast. We didn’t venture into the sea for a swim nor did we spend any more time at the private beach. The beach restaurant is nothing more than a wooden hut decked with 5 sets of white plastic B&Q garden furniture. The stench of the toilets that are in very close proximity to the cooking and eating area was enough for us to decline our booked table so we can’t comment on the standard of food served at that particular hotel restaurant. The Barbeque Restaurant... This is situated beside the pool and you need to book this, which gives the impression of a better standard. We used it twice and very disappointing on both occasions. Food no better standard than the main restaurant. The kebab meat was burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. The chicken burger was not chicken but beef. The Al A Carte Restaurant... This is situated inside the main building and again needed to be booked in advance which also gives the impression of a better standard. WRONG. Worse than ever. The Staff... I don’t feel they need any specific or special praise or mention for a job they should be doing anyway. They can smile and they can be grumpy. Service can be good and it can be bad. Bottom line is that the staff are paid to do a job. Their job is to house me, feed me and entertain me. Their house was substandard, they fed me crap with a smile and they didn’t entertain me. The animation team seem to be the glue that keeps the place going but they do so through underhand tactics rather than on merit in my opinion. Can be very pushy to some guests about reviews so please leave writing your own review until you get home and do it from a PC or laptop rather than a mobile phone whilst sat next to the pool speaking with the animation team! In summary... the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes, Tunisia is a substandard resort with substandard accommodation and no more than a 2 star at best. It is tired and dated and in dire need of modernising to bring it up to anywhere near it’s perceived 4 star rating. The food hygiene and standard of food is diabolical in all areas and the entertainment is awful. The alcohol and beer is watered down and served in coloured plastic beakers that are not adequately cleaned and the general standard of cleanliness around the resort grounds has you pestered by flies, bees and wasps throughout the day. The room is comfortable enough but very basic and needs additional cost for security of personal items and cold drinks. This is my opinion and my view of this resort. Hope it helps. I won’t be going back and I will NOT be recommending this resort to family and friends.

  • Location
    1.0

    Poor, run down, in the middle of an industrial estate.

Close
Lottie
Fantastic hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Having a fantastic family holiday, don't want to leave this place!! All the staff are so helpful and the animation. are really friendly. This is my best holiday ever, I can't wait to come back this place is so special read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Nicola
This hotel is a must if you come to Tunisia
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This hotel is amazing. Plenty to do. Kids will never be bored with activities throughout the day and evening. Kids club cinema room the lot. Rooms lovely and clean beds changed daily. Stone throw from the beach. 3 restaurants and continious snacks. Staff are lovely and friendly. Manager sammi always around making sure you are having the best holiday. Our second year here afta many stays all over tunisia and got to say this is the best by far. Oh and if u like night life they have their own nightclub macumba which is a good night and open till ... the early hours. Its a must stay. We will be back read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Lovely clean n fresh . Bed change on daily basis and room clean daily basis

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Service here is amazing and everyone goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Fab fab fab. Always smthn to do.kids will never be bored

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This hotel is amazing. Plenty to do. Kids will never be bored with activities throughout the day and evening. Kids club cinema room the lot. Rooms lovely and clean beds changed daily. Stone throw from the beach. 3 restaurants and continious snacks. Staff are lovely and friendly. Manager sammi always around making sure you are having the best holiday. Our second year here afta many stays all over tunisia and got to say this is the best by far. Oh and if u like night life they have their own nightclub macumba which is a good night and open till the early hours. Its a must stay. We will be back

  • Location
    6.0

    Perfect peaceful location. Bus taxi and louage right outside

Close
Piotr
The best week of my life
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The whole atmosphere there was terrific. Everyone is smiling at you and ready to help. People here made my stay unusual so I wish so much I couldn't stay there for a longer period of time. Special Thanks to Rio, Zazi and Kouki read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    I don't have much to say about rooms because almost every time I was outside. Beds are comfortable. There is an air conditioning working in the summer season.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food is also a relevant positive aspect of this place. Everyone is able to find something to consume. It's highly impossible here to be hungry.

  • Service
    6.0

    Service is also at high level. There are few bars and restaurants where you can eat and drink.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Animations after breakfast and after lunch make this place alive! You can play archery, darts, volleyball, water-polo and much more! Animators are fantastic! They are soo positive people.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The whole atmosphere there was terrific. Everyone is smiling at you and ready to help. People here made my stay unusual so I wish so much I couldn't stay there for a longer period of time. Special Thanks to Rio, Zazi and Kouki

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located near the beach. There is also a disco-club "Macumba" so you don't really need to leave the resort to have fun. It's just 9 KM to Monastir and Sousse so it's not a problem to travel there for sightseeing reasons.

Close
Lee
Amazing Ramada Liberty Resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Excellent holiday from start to finish. The service from all staff was first class. The restaurant manager Ali was absolutely brilliant. All the animation team were fantastic. But for us, the 3 girls ( Mimi, Kouki and Zazi) who worked endlessly to entertain our children were the best. Also a big thankyou to Amin at the BBQ and Moussa both waiters. They couldn't do enough for us. Thankyou all. Can't wait to come back and see you all again read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.8
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Charlotte
Fantastic
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This was a last minute holiday and my first holiday and all I can say is how amazing it was the hotel and staff were just lovely me and my friend are going back in November only this time with are teenage children who will love it great animation team nino your a star ;) criss cross always put a smile on are faces and alex well if it wasn't for your help we would of gone hungry as we missed dinner one eve but he saved the day ,) ha thank you all RAMADA LIBERTY read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Clemence
Ramada liberty is a must go, absolutely loved it
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This hotel was one of the best hotel i have been to in north africa (love travelling). the people/staff/waitress were extremely friendly and polite (you can just tell they get the correct training and support). furthermore, the rooms was the icing on the cake, the views were amazing, we could see the swimming pool from where we was it was just great. the distance from our hotel to the beach (was AMAZING) it was literally a 2mins walk, at the beach you could do alot of activities. such as jetski,bananaboat ride etc. for a reasonable price. the food was ... also great, the hotel had a variety of restaurants to suit tourist taste. definitely want to go back to this hotel next year had so much fun. want to thank all the staff/waitress/cleaners for making me feel so welcomed. the manager and the owner of that hotel should be extremely proud read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gladys
Ramada Liberty it's a must go
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Right where to begin, my experience in ramada liberty was absolutely amazing. The hotel looks great from the outside & modern and tidy from the inside Myself And 2 of my other friends arrived in ramada liberty on Wednesday evening (thinking we've missed dinner) how've we was directed to the kitchen when we arrived & had the chef prepared something for us. Firstly the receptionist are extremely friendly, king & so polite, they really know how to make you feel at ease with they warmth welcoming. We had a family room which was located on the ground floor with a ... fantastic view outside. The people were all friendly, lovely food and drink we're great (suggest for an all inclusive board) there's several benefits as there was a bar that opened til midnight which allowed you get drinks for free whether your an alcoholic or not. As stated before the food was amazing breakfast/lunch/dinner & on a plus side for lunch & dinner you're able to eat from the BBQ or another restaurant if the food in the main restaurant doesn't tickle your fancy. This hotel takes everything into consideration. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone but especially the British ones. They love English people you get treated like a queen there as for guys kings of course. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was great although we didn't ask for a ground floor however the view from the window didn't allow us to complain it was so beautiful we loved it. The room contained 3 reasonable size beds, telephone, aircon, TV & safety lock ( to lock all your valuables) that hotel made you feel so safe it's crazy.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    This hotel was not limited at all there were more than one restaurant just in case you wasn't a fan if the food at the main restaurant. The food was delicious I must admit I was a big fan of their meats I need to find out their secret ingredients. It's good when you tip the waiters to show you appreciate they work & effort.

  • Service
    6.0

    I loved the service in this place, the room was excellent well cleaned, gets cleaned everyday by cleaners therefore shows it is well maintained & appointed. Staff are super friendly & professional

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation in the hotel was entertaining, they never failed to entertain us every night as they made sure the was something every night. Whether that was comedy/dancing/drama etc. there is also a range of disco in the hotel which is highly protected by securities impossible to feel unsafe.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Right where to begin, my experience in ramada liberty was absolutely amazing. The hotel looks great from the outside & modern and tidy from the inside Myself And 2 of my other friends arrived in ramada liberty on Wednesday evening (thinking we've missed dinner) how've we was directed to the kitchen when we arrived & had the chef prepared something for us. Firstly the receptionist are extremely friendly, king & so polite, they really know how to make you feel at ease with they warmth welcoming. We had a family room which was located on the ground floor with a fantastic view outside. The people were all friendly, lovely food and drink we're great (suggest for an all inclusive board) there's several benefits as there was a bar that opened til midnight which allowed you get drinks for free whether your an alcoholic or not. As stated before the food was amazing breakfast/lunch/dinner & on a plus side for lunch & dinner you're able to eat from the BBQ or another restaurant if the food in the main restaurant doesn't tickle your fancy. This hotel takes everything into consideration. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone but especially the British ones.. They love English people you get treated like a queen there as for guys kings of course.

  • Location
    5.0

    The distance of the beach to the hotel was great literally a 3mins walk from the hotel, white sand & blue water (wish I could upload a picture). Beach chairs and umbrellas are available. Also there's food available at the beach you must reserve with the hotel beforehand. At the beach there are amazing activities - jetski is a must do, you have to do it. The place isn't noisy at all so you are guaranteed a good sleep. There is always a taxi waiting outside the hotel which saves you the hustle from calling one. & to go to souse & monastir it's only a 10mins drive from the hotel which is a fair distance can't complain.

Close
Jane
Just Outstanding
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
There is only one word to describe the holiday we have just taken at the Ramada Liberty Resort and that is FABULOUS, from the moment arrived at the reception to our last day by the pool we were treated like royalty. My husband explained it was our 25th wedding anniversary and we were immediately upgraded to a suite overlooking the sea. As for the staff they went above and beyond to make our stay complete especially Ali in the restaurant and Amine in the BBQ restaurant, their service and attitude was a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much ... trouble and they went the extra mile for us including Ali having the chef to cook us an extra special meal and placing flowers on the table for us one night at meal time. As for Amine, he would always bring over to us an iced bottle of water when we were by the pool, it’s the little touches like these that make the Ramada Liberty Hotel the best holiday destination for anyone who wants to go to Tunisia. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Judi
Wonderful !
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
We were a bit wary as we had read some of the negative reviews But we needn't have worried we had a fabulous time.Check in was easy and the staff were very welcoming.Our room was clean & bright with a beautiful sea view.There are 3 dining rooms & there is something for everyoneAli the restaurant manager goes out of his way to make everyone feel welcome & if you really can't find anything you like to eat he will ask the Chef to prepare a dish to your order.Main at the barbeque restaurant is also ... lovely & eager to please.Sami the manager is very high profile & if you have any problems he is very quick to get them rectified.The pool & animation staff were great too.It was a brilliant holiday & we would love to go back with family next year read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Julia
Perfect hotel,unforgetible holidays.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
It was perfect holidays.We enjoied every minut we stayed in there. Absolutely happy we had such a good time in Tunisia,Ramada hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Clean,quiet,with a good view. The conditioner working good,all stuffs been at places we put it,any bad cimments.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    The animation team was very,very good. Allways with a smyles and good mood. Very good programs every evening. No time to even think about bad things,just smyles and relax.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Lot of fun and entertainments for all wishes. I cant tell any bad things.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was perfect holidays.We enjoied every minut we stayed in there. Absolutely happy we had such a good time in Tunisia,Ramada hotel.

  • Location
    6.0

    Very nice beach,excellent weather.

Close
Sarah
Amzaing hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The hotel was very clean and tidy. Housekeeping clean the rooms everyday and lay out the bedding in beautiful designs! Breakfast is amazing, pancakes and omlettes fresh! All inclusive with lots of food anbd variety available each day. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Nice, big and clean. overlooking the pool, there was also a TV in the room.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Everyone is very friendly and willing to help!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool is very clean and there are plenty of sunbed available all day everyday. Internet access is limited to the lobby area and is not free. There is a disco attacthed to the hotel called Macumba, its very popular in skanes and it's a great night out!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was very clean and tidy. Housekeeping clean the rooms everyday and lay out the bedding in beautiful designs! Breakfast is amazing, pancakes and omlettes fresh! All inclusive with lots of food anbd variety available each day.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beach is across the road so no need to travel far in your swimming attire! You can get a bus or taxi from outside of the hotel that will take you sousse or monistir (the local markets). the journey takes around 15-20 minutes. The locals are very friendly!

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 9